Longhorns Host NCAA DI Swimming & Diving Championships For 8th Time

·      Texas hosts the NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships for the eighth time overall and the first time since 2003.

·      The NCAA Championships feature 235 invited swimmers and 35 divers from 58 universities.  Texas and California lead the field with 16 invited swimmers apiece.  Texas and Purdue each have a meet-best four divers.

·      Under 36th-year head coach Eddie Reese, Texas has won 10 NCAA team championships (1981, ’88, ’89, ’90, ’91, ’96, 2000, ’01, ’02, 2010) and has finished as the NCAA runner-up 10 times.  Associate head coach Kris Kubik, now in his 31st season at Texas, assisted Reese in winning all 10 NCAA crowns.

·      Texas has finished no worse than second at five of the last six NCAA Championship meets.  Reese’s Longhorns have finished in the top-three at the NCAA Championships in 27 of his previous 35 seasons in Austin.

·      Since Reese’s arrival on the Forty Acres, no school has won more NCAA team titles than The University of Texas.  His 10 NCAA team titles rank only behind the 11 won by former Ohio State coach Mike Peppe.

·      Texas has won 105 NCAA individual titles.  UT boasts 49 NCAA swimming individual titles, 39 NCAA swimming relay crowns and 17 NCAA diving titles.

·      Texas has won NCAA titles in 18 of the 21 events contested annually at the NCAA Championships.

WHEN:  Thursday, March 27 through Saturday, March 29


WHERE:  Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center – Austin, Texas


LIVE SWIMMING RESULTS:  http://www.atlantaswimming.com/liveresults/2014NCAA/index.htm

LIVE DIVING RESULTS: www.divemeets.com

LIVE VIDEO:  Live video of all preliminary rounds in addition to the day one finals will be available at TexasSports.com.  ESPN3.com and the WatchESPN mobile application will offer live video to subscribers during the day two and day three finals sessions.



·      UT will host the NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships for the eighth time overall (1951, ’81, ’85, ’87, 91, ’96, 2003, 2014) and for the seventh time at its Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center, which opened in 1977.  The pool is named after UT alumni and benefactors Joe Jamail and his wife, the late Lee Hage Jamail.  The pool will seat approximately 1,800 spectators per session at the 2014 NCAA Championships.

·      The Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center played host to the NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships for the first time in 1981, when third-year head coach Eddie Reese led the Longhorns to their first of 10 NCAA team titles.

·      Texas has won three of the seven NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship meets it has hosted (1981, 1991, 1996).

·      Yale won the 1951 NCAA title at UT, and Stanford won the 1985 and 1987 NCAA titles at Texas.  Auburn won the most recent NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championship meet at Texas in 2003.  UT has finished no worse than fifth place at the seven NCAA Championship meets it has hosted.

·      The Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center also has played host to six NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship meets, the 1988 U.S. Olympic Swimming Trials and the 2001 U.S. World Championship Trials.  The facility hosts the USA Swimming Austin Grand Prix every January.

·      The Texas Swimming Center was modeled after the pool constructed for the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich, Germany.  The TSC features a 50-meter swimming competition pool that, with a depth of nine feet, holds 880,000 gallons of water.  The diving well has a peak depth of 18 feet and holds 660,000 gallons of water.  The diving facility has six three-meter springboards, four one-meter springboards and diving platforms at 1, 3, 5, 7.5 and 10 meters.

 This release was provided to by the University of Texas Swimming & Diving / Feldhaus.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »