Indiana Set To Open 2021-22 Season At Home Against Kentucky, Indiana State

by SwimSwam 0

October 05th, 2021 Big Ten, College, News

Courtesy: Indiana Athletics

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana swimming and diving is set to open its 2021-22 season Wednesday (Oct. 6) at Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatics Center, hosting a dual meet for the men’s team and a tri meet for the women’s program.

The Hoosiers will welcome reigning SEC Champion Kentucky to Bloomington, and Indiana State will make the trip to compete in the women’s tri meet.

Ray Looze enters his 20th season in Bloomington and 18th year leading both the men’s and women’s swimming programs. Head diving coach Drew Johansen is set for his eighth season in charge of Indiana divers.

Both the men’s and women’s programs return the majority of their rosters that finished sixth and ninth, respectively, at the 2021 NCAA Championships. Both of IU’s 2021 individual national champions, divers Andrew Capobianco (men’s 3M) and Tarrin Gilliland (women’s platform), are back for the new campaign.


  • Wednesday, Oct. 6 | 2 p.m. ET
  • Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatics Center • Bloomington, Ind.
  • Opponents: (M) Kentucky; (W) Kentucky; Indiana State
  • Stream: N/A
  • Live Results (Swim):
  • Live Results (Dive):

Diving: 1M, 3M

Swimming: 200 Medley Relay, 1,000 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle, 100 Backstroke, 100 Breaststroke, 200 Butterfly, 50 Freestyle, 100 Freestyle, 200 Backstroke, 200 Breaststroke, 500 Freestyle, 100 Butterfly, 200 IM, 400 Freestyle Relay



The IU swimming and diving program sent 13 current, former, and Indiana Swim Club trainees, and two coaches to the Olympic Games 2020 Tokyo. The athletes returned with 11 medals. Three Hoosier Olympians, Michael Brinegar, Andrew Capobianco and Tomer Frankel, are on the roster for the 2021-22 campaign. Capobianco earned silver in the 3M Synchro Springboard.

Five athletes with Indiana ties were named to the 2021-22 U.S. National Team roster; Zach Apple, Michael Brinegar, Blake Pieroni, Lilly King and Annie Lazor.


2020 Women’s Big Ten Championships: IU, the nation’s 23rd-ranked program, finished third at the Big Ten Championships with 964 team points. No. 19 Ohio State (1,503.5 pts.) earned the team victory, while No. 5 Michigan (1,305.6 pts.) finished second.

2020 Men’s Big Ten Championships: The fourth-ranked swimming program in the nation finished third overall in the Big Ten Championships with a four-day score of 1,321.5 points, trailing No. 3 Michigan (1,548 pts.) and No. 17 Ohio State (1,329 pts.).

Bruno Blaskovic earned Swimmer of the Championships accolades, while Brendan Burns was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.


Be sure to keep up with all the latest news on the Indiana men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams on social media – TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments