Groves Takes Down Schipper’s Age Group Record At Victorian Champs

St. Peters Western swimmer 18 year old Madeline Groves took home gold in the women’s 100 butterfly at the Victorian State Championships, in the process she broke Jessicah Schipper‘s 2005 18 year old age group record of 58.18, winning the event in a time of 57.43.

Groves improved on her lifetime best time of 57.73, putting herself in fifth place on the Australian All Time Top 10 list, pushing Ellen Gandy and Brittany Elmslie, who third and fourth in the race, into eighth and ninth position on the all time top 10 list.

  • Jessicah Schipper – 56.23
  • Lisbeth Trickett – 56.73
  • Alicia Coutts – 56.85
  • Petria Thomas – 57.36
  • Madeline Groves – 57.43
  • Felicity Galvez – 57.60
  • Stephanie Rice – 57.67
  • Ellen Gandy – 57.99
  • Brittany Elmslie – 58.02
  • Marieke Guehrer – 58.08

2012 Australian Olympic star Alicia Coutts collected her second silver of the competition finishing in a time of 58.11.

James Magnussen highlighted day one with a tremendous performance in the 100 freestyle posting a 47.73 and beating Korean star Park Tae Hwan by over a second and a half. Today Park got a little bit of revenge taking the 200 freestyle crown from Magnussen in the races final moments.

The race for the gold in the event was an exciting one, which also included Daniel Smith:

  • Park – 25.24/52.86 (27.62)/1:21.17 (28.31)/1:48.00 (26.83)
  • Magnussen – 24.33/51.78 (27.45)/1:20.00 (28.22)/1:48.45 (28.45)
  • Smith – 25.52/53.44 (27.92)/1:21.12 (27.68)/1:48.69 (27.57)

Park employed the same strategy to win the 400 freestyle on day one where he out swam David McKeon by almost two full seconds in the final 50 meters. Magnussen was not far off his lifetime best of 1:47.93, which he recorded last year.

Groves St. Peters Western teammate and Australian National Team member Bronte Barratt took the women’s 400 freestyle in a time of 4:07.46. Barratt is one of the many at the meet that is tuning up for the BHP Billiton Super Series.

16 year old Remy Fairweather posted a time of 4:08.17 to win the silver.

World championship silver medalist Belinda Hocking won her second event of the competition taking the women’s 100 backstroke in a time of 1:00.17 just ahead of Madison Wilson who touched in a time of 1:00.47.

Melanie Schlanger won the women’s 50 freestyle in a time of 25.25, out touching Brittany Elmslie who hit the wall in a time of 25.35. With that win Schlanger sweeps the freestyle sprint events.

Georgia Bohl missed winning the women’s 100 breaststroke by seven one-hundredths of a second, in the 200 breaststroke she would not leave her victory to chance taking the event in a time of 2:29.40, over four seconds ahead of Karlene Pircher who finished second in a time of 2:33.42.

BHP Billiton Super Series team member Daniel Tranter won the men’s 200 IM in a time of 1:59.86 finishing close to two seconds ahead of Victorian State record holder Travis Mahoney who hit the wall in a time of 2:01.84.

Joshua Beaver took the men’s 200 backstroke in a time of 1:57.84. Mitch Larkin finished second in a time of 1:58.45 followed by Matson Larkin who touched in a time of 1:59.03.

Mitch Patterson won the men’s 50 butterfly in a time of 24.31 while Jeremy Meyer took the men’s 100 breaststroke finishing in a time of 1:02.99.

Multi-Class Events

In the men’s Multi Class 100m freestyle Rowan Crothers took top spot on the podium, taking the gold medal in a time of 55.46. The silver medal went to Matt Levy in 1:03.73 with Mitchell Kilduff third in 57.76.

In the corresponding women’s event Rakiya Thomas finished on top of the podium, taking the title in a time of 1:06.83. Megan Botha (1:09.22) was awarded the silver medal with Monique Beckwith (1:04.57) rounding out the top three.

After picking up a bronze medal in the men’s Multi Class 100m freestyle, Mitchell Kilduff (27.35) was back on the podium, this time taking home the gold in the Multi Class 50m butterfly. Nunawading swimmer Jeremy Tidy secured the silver in 27.49 with Andrew Pasterfield third in 27.61.

The men’s Multi Class 50m backstroke provided Matthew Haanappel with his third medal of the meet, this time gold, in 37.65. Nunawading swimmer Jeremy Tidy also added to his medal haul, picking up his second silver of the night in 30.51 ahead of Andrew Pasterfield (31.01) in third place.

Seventeen-year-old Ashleigh McConnell stepped up to top spot in the women’s Multi Class 50m backstroke claiming the title in 37.51. Monique Beckwith was left to settle for silver in 35.44 while Emily Beecroft took home the bronze in 38.54.

Paralympian and IPC World Championship representative Ahmed Kelly was too strong in the final of the men’s Multi Class 100m breaststroke, hitting the wall in 1:53.57 to grab the gold. Matt Levy (1:25.66) returned to the podium in the silver medal position with Timothy Disken taking bronze in 1:18.84.

Melbourne Vicentre swimmer Tanya Huebner bagged the breaststroke double following her win in the 50m breaststroke last night and the 100m Multi Class breaststroke tonight. Huebner stopped the clock at 1:44.29 to take the title ahead of a consistent Monique Beckwith in 1:27.46 and India Biesse Fitton in 1:36.85.

Full meet results can be found here

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »