Florida Men and Women Win the Pinch A Penny All Florida Invitational

The Florida Gators walked away from the Pinch a Penny All Florida Invitational with wins for both the men’s and women’s program. The Gators won 10 of the 12 events on the third day of the meet. Florida State swimmers won the other two events.

The women’s meet:

1. University of Florida 1146 2. Florida State University 798
3. Florida Gulf Coast University 695 4. University of Miami 400
5. Florida Southern College 346 6. University of North Florida 286
7. Nova Southeastern University 119

Florida’s 400 freestyle relay team Ellese Zalewski, Natalie Hinds, Elizabeth Beisel, and Lindsey McKnight touched first in a time of 3:21.98.

In the 1650 freestyle, Florida State’s Madison Jacobi won the race, touching the wall in 16:21.26. The Florida women finished in the next 6 spots.

Elizabeth Beisel won the women’s 200 backstroke, finishing six seconds ahead of second place, posting a time of 1:56.96.

Florida State’s Kaitlyn Dressel won the 100 freestyle with a B cut time in 49.50. Natalie Hinds of Florida was also under 50 seconds.

Florida’s Hilda Luthersdottir won the 200 breaststroke at 2:18.87. Beisel was second at 2:19.99.

Taylor Katz of Florida won the 200 butterfly with a 2:01.92.

Florida’s 400 freestyle relay team of Ellese Zalewski, Natalie Hinds, Elizabeth Beisel, and Lindsey McKnight touched first to win with a time of 3:21.98.

The Men’s Meet:

1. University of Florida 1269 2. Florida State University 970
3. Florida Southern College 487 4. Nova Southeastern Uni. 449
5. University of Miami 105

On the men’s side, the Florida men won every event on day 3 of the All Florida Invite. Florida’s Dan Wallace and Arthur Frayler raced the entire 1650, eventually finishing .20 seconds apart. Wallace went 15:22.15 and Frayler was 15:22.35.

Carlos Omana led Corey Main and Connor Signorin to a 1-2-3 finish in the men’s 200 backstroke. Omana finished with a time of 1:45.76.

Brad DeBorde won the 100 freestyle, breaking 45 to swim a 44.88 in the 100 freestyle.

Matt Elliott led the Gators to a 1-2-3-4 finish in 200 breaststroke. His final time was 2:00.28.

Marcin Cieslak went 1:45.03 to win the 200 butterfly. He was then able to jump up for the 400 freestyle relay and split a 44.29 as the anchor. The Florida relay of Corey Main, Brad DeBorde, Sebastian Rousseau, and Cieslak won with a time of 2:57.75.

Click here to view the full meet results.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »