Colin Zeng, Matt Scoggin Win 2019 CSCAA Diver & Coach of the Meet


Until last season, matching the CSCAA Diving Coach of the Year award with the CSCAA Diver of the Year award. In every year of the decade from 2008 through 2017, the two moved in lock-step: the winning Coach of the Year was the coach of the Diver of the Year.

But Tennessee’s Colin Zeng has broken that trend. After diving 2 years at Ohio State, including winning an NCAA title in the 2015-2016 season as a freshman, Zeng has won 2 straight CSCAA Men’s Division I NCAA Championship Diver of the Meet awards for the Volunteers.

Zeng started the meet with a win on the 1-meter, finishing 6.10 points ahead of Penn State’s Hector Garcia Boissier. He would then finish 4th on the 3-meter and 5th on the platform – which had been his best event, and one in which he was the NCAA Champion in both 2016 and 2018.

He becomes just the 4th diver in NCAA history with both a platform and a 1-meter title on his resume, joining Miami’s Rio Ramirez, Purdue’s David Boudia, and Purdue’s Steele Johnson.

Side note: Colin Zeng has an incredible back-story. As a pre-teen, he was homeless after being removed from an Olympic training program because his mother requested that he be allowed to attend school. He was born prematurely when his mother fled from government officials keen to enforce the country’s one-child policy and she jumped from a balcony, inducing labor at 8 1/2 months. Read more about how he came to be a 3-time NCAA Champion diver here.

But his coach Dave Parrington, who has won one CSCAA Coach of the Year award, in 2013 when he took the women’s honor, was not this year’s Coach of the Year.

Instead, that honor went to Texas diving coach Matt Scoggin. He previously won the award in 2012 and 2014. His diver, sophomore Jordan Windle, won the men’s platform event. In total, Texas divers scored 84 points: more than any other diving group in the meet.

CSCAA Diving Coach of the Meet honorees, 2005-present

  • 2018 Drew Johansen, Indiana
  • 2017 Adam Soldati, Purdue
  • 2016 Julian Krug, Pittsburgh
  • 2015 Adam Soldati, Purdue
  • 2014 Matt Scoggins, Texas
  • 2013 Rick Schavone, Stanford
  • 2012 Matt Scoggin, Texas
  • 2011 Adam Soldati, Purdue
  • 2010 Adam Soldati, Purdue
  • 2009 Adam Soldati, Purdue
  • 2008 Dan Laak, Georgia
  • 2007 Rick Schavone, Stanford
  • 2006 Dan Laak, Georgia
  • 2005 Mark Bradshaw, Arizona State

CSCAA Diver of the Meet honorees, 2005-present

  • 2018 Colin Zeng, Tennessee
  • 2017 Steele Johnson, Purdue
  • 2016 Dominic Giordano, Pittsburgh
  • 2015 Steele Johnson, Purdue
  • 2014 Michael Hixon, Texas
  • 2013 Kristian Ipsen, Stanford
  • 2012 Drew Livingston, Texas
  • 2011 David Boudia, Purdue
  • 2010 David Boudia, Purdue
  • 2009 David Boudia, Purdue
  • 2008 Chris Colwill, Georgia
  • 2007 Steven Segerlin, Auburn
  • 2006 Chris Colwill, Georgia
  • 2005 Joona Puhakka, Arizona State

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Whar kin I get me one of them Porcupined Skinned Caps??? Love it

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!