China Takes Top Honors At FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2017

by SwimSwam 0

March 05th, 2017 Diving, News

Chinese divers snatched 9 gold medals out of 10 this weekend in the Beijing Water Cube, as the inaugural leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2017 took place from March 3-5.

Already building anticipation for the upcoming FINA World Championships in Budapest this summer, Team China was in top form: Olympic champion Chen Aisen took gold in the men’s 10m platform (556.25) and added an other gold to his tally with the synchro 10m (488.85). His partner in the latter event, Yang Hao, came second in the 10m individual event (554.70), while Tom Daley of Great Britain completed the podium with520.35 points.

Jack Laugher broke China’s dominance on Day 2  of the competition by winning the 3m springboard in 554.00. Xie Siyi and Cao Yuan claimed silver (539.15) and bronze (510.05) respectively and won the 3m synchro as a pair on Day 1 in the event.

In the women’s field, as expected Shi Tingmao, who is a two-time Olympic champion, clinched the gold in the 3m (391.05). Chang Yani was second (330.35) and Maddison Keeney of Australia ranked third (327.85).

Tingmao also won the 3m synchro event with Xu Zhihuan in 319.20.

Si Yajie was the best in the 10m (406.60), while teammate Ren Qian (398.75) and Kim Mi Rae (PRK, 360.25) began this 2017 Series with a second and third-place finish, respectively.

Both mixed events were topped by Chinese pairs.

Other nations on the podium this weekend were Canada, Germany, Malaysia and Russia.

The FINA/NVC Diving World Series is next stopping in Guanzhou (CHN) from March 9-11.

Medallists in Beijing

3m springboard:
1. Jack Laugher (GBR) 554.00, 2. Xie Siyi (CHN) 539.15, 3. Cao Yuan (CHN) 510.05
10m platform:
1. Chen Aisen (CHN) 556.25, 2. Yang Hao (CHN) 554.70, 3. Thomas Daley (GBR) 520.35
3m springboard synchro: 1. Cao Yuan/Xie Siyi (CHN) 450.39, 2. Jack Laugher/Chris Mears (GBR) 427.98, 3. Evgenii Kuznetsov/Ilia Zakharov (RUS) 419.25
10m platform synchro: 1. Chen Aisen/Yang Hao (CHN) 488.85, 2. Patrick Hausding/Sascha Klein (GER) 419.10, 3. Aleksandr Bondar/Viktor Minibaev (RUS) 415.50

3m springboard: 1. Shi Tingmao (CHN) 391.05, 2. Chang Yani (CHN) 330.35, 3. Maddison Keeney (AUS) 327.85
10m platform: 1. Si Yajie (CHN) 406.60, 2. Ren Qian (CHN) 398.75, 3. Kim Mi Rae (PRK) 360.25
3m springboard synchro: 1. Shi Tingmao/Xu Zhihuan (CHN) 319.20, 2. Maddison Keeney/Anabelle Smith (AUS) 298.68, 3. Kristina Ilinykh/Nadezhda Bazhina (RUS) 294.00
10m platform synchro: 1. Chang Yani/Ren Qian (CHN) 340.26, 2. Cheong Jun Hoong/Pamg Pandelela (MAS) 316.08, 3. Kim Mi Rae/Kim Kuk Hyang (PRK) 313.92

3m synchro:
1. Wang Han/Li Zheng (CHN) 323.10, 2. Domonic Bedgood/Maddison Keeney (AUS) 305.34, 3. Francois Imbeau-Dulac/Jennifer Abel (CAN) 304.74
10m synchro: 1. Lian Jie/Lian Junjie (CHN) 329.28, 2. Iuliia Timoshinina/Viktor Minibaev (RUS) 305.64, 3. VIncent Riendeau/Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) 302.34
Diving World Series 2017 calendar

1. Beijing (CHN) – March 3-5
2. Guangzhou City (CHN) March 9-11
3. Kazan (RUS) March 31- April 2
4. Windsor (CAN) April 21-23

News courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments