Arizona State Takes The Win In Season-Opener Against Pacific

Stockton, California – The Arizona State Sun Devils topped the Pacific Tigers 170-92 on Saturday, opening both team’s intercollegiate schedules. This meet will go down as the first victory in the Tempe tenure of Arizona State head coach Bob Bowman, who is also the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Coach.

The meet started with the 200 yard medley relay as ASU’s ‘A’ relay took first with a team of Reid Elliott, Christian Lorenz, Tadas Duskinas, and Patrick Park with the time of 1:31.05. Following closely being was Pacific, who came in second (1:31.47) with Makoa Alvarez, Yahav Shahaf, Stewart Harrison, and Mitchell Ongstad, followed by their team mates who came in third (1:33.81), Curtis Klein, Cameron Franke, Jared Vu, and Miles Mackenzie.

The Sun Devils took first and second in the 1000 yard freestyle, with Juan Tolosa coming in first (9:35.48) and Mitchell Bruckman coming in second (9:51.94). Colin Craig from Pacific took third in this event with the time of 9:53.12, making it a close race between him and Bruckman.

In the 200 yard freestyle was a close event, with ASU taking first and second again, with Barkley Perry coming in first (1:40.53) and Thomas Martins coming in second (1:41.08). Pacific took third again with Brandon Presswood, finishing with the time of 1:41.45, barely been out-touched by Martins.

The Tigers had a turn of fortune in the 100 yard backstroke, as they took first and second, with Makoa Alvarez (49.60). Alvarez’s time was just 1.11 seconds off of the NCAA Division 1 ‘B’ cut, which is a great start to his season. Curtis Klein from Pacific came in second (51.30), just out-touching Reid Elliott from ASU, who took third in the backstroke with the time of 51.46.

In the 100 yard breaststroke, the Sun Devils took first, second, and third, making it a very tight race between team mates. Christian Lorenz came in first with the time of 57.03, Josh Lamb came in second with the time of 57.77, and Juan Garica took third with the time of 57.87.

Patrick Park from ASU took first in the 200 yard butterfly (1:50.65), while Pacific came in second and third with Jared Vu (1:56.00) and Nicholas Nord (1:57.48).

The 50 yard freestyle was a close race between ASU and Pacific, as Arizona State took first again, with Tadas Duskinas (21.07). Duskinas’ had a great race, finishing on .88 off of the NCAA Division 1’B’ cut. followed closely by the Tigers, who took second and third again, with Yahav Shahaf (21.24) and Miles Mackenzie (21.26).

Patrick Park from ASU took first again in the 100 yard freestyle with the time of 45.30, only 1.01 seconds off of the NCAA ‘B’ cut, out-touching Stewart Harrison from Pacific with the time of 45.76. Thomas Martins took third for Arizona State with the time of 46.51.

In the 200 yard backstroke, Barkley Perry, from Arizona State, came in first with the time of 1:49.58, out-touching Curtis Klein from Pacific, with the time of 1:50.68. Kyle Sockwell took third for the Sun Devils with the time of 1:54.02.

Arizona State took first, second, and third in the 200 yard breaststroke, with Christian Lorenz coming in first (2:03.38), Juan Garica coming in second (2:03.66), and Josh Lamb coming in third (2:06.21).

Juan Tolosa from ASU took first in the 500 yard freestyle with the time of 4:42.33. Pacific took second and third in this event, with Colin Craig coming in second (4:46.27) and Brandon Presswood coming in third (4:46.67).

The Sun Devils took first again in the 100 yard butterfly with Tadas Duskinas with the time of 48.95. Duskinas’ had another great swim of the night, touching only .66 seconds away from the NCAA ‘B’ cut. The Tigers took second and third again in this event with Jared Vu (49.94) and Makoa Alvarez (50.54).

Curtis Klein from Pacific came in first in the 200 yard IM with the time of 1:54.94, out-touching Kyle Sockwell from ASU with the time of 1:55.79 and Juan Garcia from ASU with the time of 1:56.46.

The meet ended with the 400 yard freestyle, with Arizona taking first and third, while Pacific took second. Patrick Park, Tadas Duskinas, Thomas Martins, and Barkley Perry from ASU took first in the relay with the time of 3:02.96, Georan Meendering, Yahav Shahaf, Miles Mackenzie, and Stewart Harrison from Pacific took second with the time of 3:04.66, and Joe Worrick, Miles Teague, Cole Miller, and Reid Elliott from ASU took third with the time of 3:11.08.

For the full list of the results, click here.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

1000 yard 2nd place should be Mitchell Bruckman.

Reply to  Roy
5 years ago

Thanks Roy – looks like they’ve got it wrong in the official results, but we’ve updated it above.

About Emilee White

Emilee White

My name is Emilee White and I grew up in Canyon Lake, California. I began swimming at the age of 13 in age group, but with my background of dance, swimming came naturally to me and I excelled in the sport. I swam all four years on my high school …

Read More »