American Energy Pro Am Race Videos


  • Mitch Park YMCA, Edmond, Oklahoma
  • Thursday, December 17- Sunday, December 20
  • Psych Sheet
  • Results can be found on Meet Mobile.

Note: there are two fantastic Pro-Am meets this week in Oklahoma City; we’ll identify them by their host teams: KMSC (King Marlin Swim Club) and AESC (American Energy Swim Club). This release is about the AESC Pro-Am.

You’ve probably already seen Michael Andrew’s incredible 19.24 national age group record 50 free, Josh Schneider’s 19.00 shootout, and Miguel Ortiz’s 45.1 100 fly. But, here you can check out some of the other incredible races from this weekend at the American Energy Swim Club (AESC) 24th Elite Pro-Am in Oklahoma City. All videos are courtesy of the American Energy Swim Club Youtube Channel, where you can find interviews, prelim race videos, and videos of the shootout races.


Reported by Lani Cabrera

Razorback Aquatic Club got a 1-2 finish in the women’s 100-yard fly event, with teammates Taylor Pike and Luciana Thomas touching in times of 53.78 and 54.99 respectively.


Reported by Lani Cabrera

Miguel Ortiz touched first in the men’s 100-yard fly in 45.19, just 0.02 seconds off of his meet record swam last year, Olympian James Feigen touched second (47.18) and Joseph Short was 3rd in a lifetime best of 48.94.


Aggie Swim Club’s Breeja Larson clocked 58.74, over 5 seconds ahead of the field.


Reported by Lani Cabrera

For the men’s event, it was a race to watch, with Cody MillerMichael Andrew fighting to the finish. At the touch it was Miller (50.82), who broke the 51 second barrier and became the 2nd fastest performer ever in this event, followed closely by Andrew (51.75), who dropped time from his previous 15-16 National Age Group Record and also went under Kevin Cordes‘s 17-18 national age group record and Mike Alexandrov 3rd in 52.91.


Reported by Lani Cabrera

The duo of Razorback Aquatic Club returned to the pool for another 1-2 finish in the women’s 400-yard IM, but this time it was Thomas with the first place touch (4:18.95), almost 4 seconds ahead of Pike (4:22.86).


Reported by Anne Lepesant

The 200 breast featured another great showdown between Cody Miller of Badger Swim Club and Greater Philadelphia’s Brendan McHugh. Miller’s winning 1:51.23 was only .20 off his lifetime best, and nearly 2 seconds under the meet/pool record, earning him a $200 bonus. McHugh, who has been tearing it up this year in all breaststroke distances, dropped 3.6 seconds off his lifetime best and jumped to sixth on the all-time list with 1:51.84. Another great performances came from Club Wolverine’s Whitaker, whose 1:54.58 for third was nearly two seconds better than his lifetime best. Carl Mickelson of Scottsdale Aquatic Club came in fourth (1:55.19);Mike Alexandrov of NYAC was fifth in 1:57.95; Minnesota and SwimSwam’s very own Jared Anderson, sixth with 1:58.87. Greg Penny, representing Westminster Academy, took seventh in 2:02.10, and Razorback’s Crosby rounded out the A final with 2:11.11.


Reported by Anne Lepesant

The women’s contest provided some great excitement of its own, beginning with a great 200 IM matchup between St Petersburg’s Melanie Margalis and Stanford Swimming’s Maya DiRado. Margalis controlled the race from the onset, outsplitting DiRado on every leg except the free. Margalis looks to have made particular progress in the backstroke, where she successfully kept DiRado at bay. Both women finished a couple seconds off their times from their showdown at the 2014 NCAA final, and this time it was Margalis with the victory, 1:54.28 to 1:55.41. Laura Sogar of Bluefish Swim Club (2:02.83) placed third. Rochester Swim Club’s Kallyn Barkey led the amateurs with a fourth-place finish in 2:04.74. Alexandra Robertson of Extreme Aquatics (2:05.71), Razorback’s Luciana Thomas (2:06.14), Kansas City’s Cailey Grunhard (2:08.66) and Taylor Ballard of Mississippi Mako (2:08.90) rounded out the A final.


Reported by Anne Lepesant

The men’s session started with a meet and pool record for NY Athletic Club’s Darian Townsend in the 200 IM with 1:42.03. Club Wolverine’s Kyle Whitaker was second with 1:43.23, while Bolles’ Rez Wong went 1:52.59 for third. American Energy fielded the top two amateurs, Joseph Short (1:56.46) and Jonathan Ye (1:56.77). Ian Bidwell (1:56.89) and David Bravo (2:00.20), both of Badger Swim Club, rounded out the A final after a DQ for Razorbacks’ Jared Crosby.


Reported by Anne Lepesant

Badger Swim Club post-grad Lindsay Vrooman won the women’s 500 free with a comfortable 4:41.15. Ohio State Swim Club’s Sam Cheverton held off Club Wolverine’s Emily Brunemann to take second, 4:45.06 to 4:45.71. 12-year-old Hayley Pike of Razorback Aquatics, who had already dropped nearly 10 seconds in prelims, took another 1.7 off her time by belting out a 27.6 final 50 and passing two swimmers en route to a fourth-place finish of 5:01.26. Nathalie Eid from Badger Swim Club touched next in 5:01.46, followed by Durango Swim Club’s Haley Benjamin (5:01.84, a PB by 7 seconds). Charger Aquatics’ Chrysten Pacheco beat teammate Sarah Lott, 5:03.77 to 5:04.86, for seventh.


In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht

Hannah Hecht grew up in Kansas and spent most of her childhood trying to convince coaches to let her swim backstroke in freestyle sets. She took her passion to Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa and swam at NAIA Nationals all four years. After graduating in 2015, she moved to …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!