3 Pool Records Broken as Kansas Beats Arkansas for the First Time Since 2004


  • February 1, 2020
  • Hosted by Kansas
  • Short Course Yards
  • Full Results


  • KANSAS: 178
  • ARKANSAS: 118

The Kansas women set 3 Pool Records last weekend as they dominated SEC opponent Arkansas. The victory marks the first time the Jayhawks have beaten the Razorbacks since 2004, 16 years ago.

The first record to fall was the 200 medley relay record. Manon Manning (back- 25.00), Kate Steward (breast- 28.33), Elizabeth Amato-Hanner (fly- 25.29), and Carly Straight (free- 23.31) combined to win the race in 1:41.93. That took down the former mark set 11 years ago in 2009.

Manning went on to set an individual Pool Record in the 100 back. She touched in 53.43 to take down the 6-year-old record, 7 tenths shy of her lifetime best from midseason. Teammate Dannie Dilsaver set the 3rd Pool Record, posting a 2:02.70 to break the 9-year-old mark. Both women won doubles, as Manning won the 200 back (1:59.73) and Dilsaver won the 200 breast (2:15.36).

Anna Hopkin continued to shine for Arkansas as she won 2 individual races. She swept her signature sprint races with a 22.76 in the 50 free and a 49.77 in the 100 free. Hopkin also posted a 21.98 to anchor the 200 medley relay and a 48.48 on the 2nd leg of the 400 free relay. Teammate Peyton Palsha swept the distance races with a 4:55.58 in the 500 free and a 10:06.94 in the 1000 free.


LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas swimming and diving utilized a record-setting day to defeat Arkansas 178-118 inside Robinson Natatorium. The win marks the Jayhawks’ first victory over the Razorbacks since 2004.

KU began the meet fast and never looked back after the foursome of Manon Manning, Kate Steward, Elizabeth Amato-Hanner and Carly Straight broke the pool record in the 200-yard medley relay with a final time of 1:41.93. The record had not been broken since 2009. That would be the Jayhawks first of three pool records set on the day and the first of 11 first-place finishes.

The second broken record came three events later at the hands of Manning in the 100-yard backstroke. She touched the wall in just 53.43 seconds and broke the record that was set back in 2014.

Dannie Dilsaver was the third Jayhawk to etch her name into the record books on Saturday, and she did it in the 200-yard individual medley where she finished with a time of 2:02.70. Her finish broke the pool record that was set back in 2011.


  • The Kansas A relay group (Manon Manning, Kate Steward, Elizabeth Amato-Hanner and Carly Straight) set the Robinson Natatorium pool record and claimed first place in the 200-yard medley relay with a final time of 1:41.93.
  • Jenny Nusbaum won the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:50.25.
  • Manon Manning set the new pool record and claimed gold in the 100-yard backstroke with a final time of 53.43.
  • Manning also won the 200-yard backstroke with a final time of 1:59.73.
  • Kate Steward touched the wall first in the 100-yard breaststroke finishing with a time of 1:02.92.
  • Amelie Lessing claimed first place in the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 2:05.76.
  • Dannie Dilsaver set the pool record and claimed first in the 200-yard individual medley with a final time of 2:02.70.
  • Dilsaver also won the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:15.36.
  • Greta Olsen won the 100-yard butterfly with a final time of 56.40.
  • Jiayu Chen claimed gold in both the 1-meter dive (290.03) and the 3-meter dive (305.85) events.


  • Kansas will travel to Ames, Iowa to compete in the two-day Iowa State Dual meet on Feb. 7 and 8. This will be the Jayhawks’ final regular-season meet before the Big 12 Championships.


LAWRENCE, Kan. – The Arkansas swimming and diving team took a 178-118 loss to Kansas at the Robinson Natatorium Saturday morning.


The team posted a total of 20 podium finishes, including five first-place finishes from swimmers Anna Hopkin, Peyton Palsha and the 400 free relay (3:26.85) foursome of Maddie London, Hopkin, Alyssa Lemon and Sarah Dalton Chambliss.

Hopkin had a fabulous day in the pool picking up three first-place finishes, a podium finish and an NCAA ‘B’ cut. In the 50 free, the senior claimed first with an NCAA ‘B’ cut time of 22.76, outracing Kansas’ Autumn Looney by over two seconds. She then went on to win the 100 free, touching the wall at 49.77.

Palsha was the first Razorback to win an event, sweeping the 1,000 free (10:06.94). Lexi Ljunggren trailed right behind, finishing the event at 10:10.32. Both distance swimmers later recorded first and second place in the 500 free, with Palsha getting a final time of 4:55.58 and Ljunggren finishing with a mark of 4:57.10.

Sophomore Vanessa Herrman had two podium finishes, taking second in the 100 breast (1:03.78) and third in the 200 IM (2:08.78). Molly Moore, Andrea Sansores, Kobie Melton and Emma Hultquist were the other Razorbacks to take podium finishes.

Estilla Mosena recorded a second-place finish in the 3- (273.68) and 1-meter (289.58). Freshman Josie Matalone combined for a score of 219.23 on the 1-meter and 253.28 on the 3-meter with both scores earning her a third-place finish.



“Our team is tired from focusing and working hard this week for the SEC Championships. Kansas swam faster and dived better than we did today. Our focus continues to be the SEC Championships, which are still more than two weeks away. We already have five swimmers that have already made NCAAs, so hard work and fatigue are all they need to be dealing with right now. I am proud of the team for staying positive and focused. The days for the Hogs to shine are coming, and I am excited and confident.”

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona (2013-2015) and the University of Florida (2011-2013). While her college swimming career left a bit to be desired, her Snapchat chin selfies and hot takes on Twitter do not disappoint. She's also a high school graduate of The …

Read More »