2021 MVC Champs: Missouri State Wins 5th-Straight Title, Miller Hits 48.6 100FR



  1. Missouri State – 929.50
  2. Southern Illinois – 548.50
  3. Indiana State – 475.50
  4. Illinois State – 444
  5. UNI – 344
  6. Evansville – 328.50
  7. Little Rock – 318
  8. Valparaiso – 117

MVC Awards

  • Swimmer of the Year: Anna Miller, MSU
  • Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Mima Zaborska, SIU
  • Swimming Coach of the Year: Dave Collins, MSU
  • Diver of the Year: Caroline Lecoeur, ILS
  • Freshman Diver of the Year: Ally Brown, SIU
  • Diving Coach of the Year: Jim Huelskamp, MSU

Missouri State won their 5th-straight MVC Championship last night, doing so by the largest margin in school history. Missouri State head coach Dave Collins was awarded Swimming Coach of the Year for the 2nd year in a row.

Missouri State senior Anna Miller was named Swimmer of the Year, after winning all 3 of her individual events, and setting the MVC Record in all 3 as well. On Friday, Miller took the 100 free with a new SIU pool, MSU school, and MVC record of 48.66. The swim shattered the previous record, which stood at 49.22. Miller defended her title in the event, just as she did in the 50 free and 10 fly earlier in the meet.

Miller was also a member of the Missouri State 400 free relay, which broke the pool, school, and MVC records. Miller teamed up with Sami Roemer, Liberty Howell, and Jordan Wenner to post a 3:20.52.

Liberty Howell, also a MSU senior, made history as well. Howell won the 1650 free on Friday, swimming a 16:43.08, leading a 1-2-3-4 charge by the Bears. The swim marked Howell’s 4th-straight MVC title in the mile, making her the first swimmer in conference history to sweep the mile over her career. It was also Howell’s 3rd individual win of the meet, and the 4th-consecutive year Howell has won 3 individual events at MVCs. She is now the first swimmer in conference history to go a perfect 12-for-12 on individual events at MVCs. Howell ends her Missouri State career with a total MVC gold medal count of 23, including relays.

Indiana State and Northern Iowa picked up their first titles of the meet on Friday. Indiana State sophomore Marni Gray won the women’s 200 fly, swimming a 2:01.89. The win marked Indiana State’s first MVC title in the event. Northern Iowa freshman Amber Finke took the 200 back with a 1:57.72, keeping UNI’s streak in the event alive. Finke’s win is the 3rd 200 back title for UNI in a row, and the 4th in the last 5 years. As a freshman, Finke is in prime position to keep that streak going next year.

Southern Illinois freshman Miroslava Zaborska completed her sweep of the breaststroke events, posting a 2:12.96 to win the 200 breast by over a second. The swim put the freshman just 0.53 seconds off the MVC record. For her efforts this week, Zaborska was awarded Freshman Swimmer of the Year honors at the conclusion of the meet.

Illinois State picked up their 2nd title of the meet, with Caroline Lecoeur completing her sweep of the diving events. After winning 1 meter on Wednesday, Lecoeur posted a total score of 257.50. Lecoeur was named the Diver of Year.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments