2015 Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara: Day Four Scratch Report


Probably the biggest scratch of the night is Nathan Adrian ducking out of the men’s 100 free as the top seed, however he wasn’t the only swimmer to give up their A or B finals spots for the last session of the 2015 Arena Pro Swim Series at Santa Clara. Also scratching from the men’s 100 free are two more big names that were slated to compete in the B final: Michael Phelps and Anthony Ervin. That would have been Ervin’s only final of the night, while Phelps’ scratch is more understandable as he will be racing in the A final of the 200 IM and 200 back earlier in the session.

These scratches move Dylan Carter (Trojan Swim Club) and Hong Kong’s Geoff Cheah, who tied for 9th this morning, into the A final without needing a swim off. It also bumps up Michael Klueh (Club Wolverine), Long Gutierrez (Mexico), and Cannon Clifton (Wisconsin Aquatics) into the B final.

Missy Franklin, after a somewhat lackluster morning session, was only able to muster a 56.10 in the women’s 100 free prelims. That put her at only 10th, one spot shy of qualifying for the A final. However, Hong Kong’s Siobhan Bernadette Haughey has scratched from her A final spot in the 100 free, and Franklin will take her position in lane one. While the real battle is shaping up to be between experienced Dutch freestyle juggernaut Femke Heemskerk and young U.S. sprint star Simone Manuel in the middle of the pool, Franklin did have a nice drop in the 200 free earlier in the meet from prelims to finals. Time will tell if she can be a factor in this race.

Haughey’s scratch has also opened up a spot in the B final of the women’s 100 free, which will be filled by Daiane Becker of Fiat Minas.

Emily Overholt, the 17-year-old Canadian who has churned out some great performances at this meet, has scratched the 200 IM, where she was seeded 9th in the A final. With that, her Arena Pro Swim Series races have come to a conclusion. Her scratch moves up Ozaukee Aquatics’ Katie Drabot into the A final and Madison Homovich of NCAC into the B final. In the men’s version of the race, Homovich’s teammate on NCAC Ben Colley has given up his B final position, which will be taken by California Aquatics’ Adam Hinshaw.

In the women’s 200 back B final, Tasija Karosas has scratched, bumping up Club Wolverine’s Claudia Lau into the B final. Marie-Claire Schillinger of WCAB has scratched her spot in the 50 breast B final, which will be given to 15-year-old Danielle Dellatorre of Athens Bulldogs.

The men’s 50 breast and 200 backstroke are the only races that are free of scratches, in addition to the fastest heat of the women’s 800 free and men’s 1500 free, which will be swum during this finals session.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

1 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
1 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Interesting choice by MP…. Hopefully Missy can redeem her morning 100 free.

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!