2014 Summit League Championships: Denver Men, Women Dominate on Day Two

Summit League Championships


Freshman Greysen Hertting of University of South Dakota was the top scorer in the women’s one-meter diving with 293.00 points. Denver’s Cat Badillo and Dana Gau picked up second and third, respectively.

Denver women swept the 500 free with Bridgette McNally (4:46.18), Morgan Mullenix (4:53.10) and Tyra Rooney (4:54.05). McNally achieved an NCAA “B” cut and broke the Summit League record of 4:48.24 set by Vanessa Balogh of Oakland in 2012.

The men’s race featured an all-Denver podium as well. Sophomore Dylan Bunch won in 4:21.10, ahead of freshmen teammates Scott Bergstrom (4:24.67) and Luke Williams (4:26.48). Both Bunch and Bergstrom notched times under the “B” standard.

Clara Jenck gave the Pioneers another victory with her 2:02.34 in the 200 IM. Jenny Oleksiak (2:04.31) of IUPUI touched second, a half-second ahead of Denver’s Amanda Sanders (2:04.82).

Denver continued to run up the points with another 1-2-3 finish in the men’s 200 IM. Jeremiah Zgliczynski led his fellow Pioneers Tim Cottam (1:49.71) and Lane Bretschneider (1:51.07) with a 1:47.73, which was 1.4 seconds under the “B” cut.

In the women’s 50 free, Denver’s Drew Matthews set a new Summit League record with a 22.90, which is also a “B” time. IUPUI’s Lexi Laird was second in 23.42; Natalie Renshaw of Omaha and Zoe Huddleston of Denver tied for third with 23.50.

Kyle Robrock won the 50 free in a “B” time of 20.15, putting Denver further out of reach on the leaderboard. South Dakota State’s Ben Bolinske (20.35) came in second ahead of Western Illinois’ Tyler Neaveill (20.48).

In the men’s three-meter diving, the top three scores all bettered the Summit League record of 322.80 from 2006. Cody Watts of IUPUI won with 334.40; Clark Kocourek of South Dakota State (328.05) took second, and Denver’s Ross Edfort (324.65) picked up bronze.

The University of Denver foursome of Sam Corea (22.39), Matthews (22.42), Johanna Roas (23.10), and Huddleston (22.99) smashed the Summit League record in the women’s 200 free relay. Their 1:30.90 was nearly 2 seconds under the previous mark set by Oakland at last year’s meet, and was 4 seconds faster than their closest competitor. IUPUI took second in 1:35.09 and Eastern Illinois (1:36.15) finished third.

The men’s race was very tight, with South Dakota State getting the win over Western Illinois despite a 19.87 anchor from Tyler Neaveill that almost caught them. The Jacks won in 1:22.31 with Bolinske (20.45), Daniel Jacobson (20.51), Phil Albu (20.96), and Wil Hogue (20.39). Western Illinois’ Austin Payne (21.21), Chris Neaveill (20.36), Jon Bond (20.95) and Tyler Neaveill (19.87) were second with 1:22.39. IUPUI took third.


Standings After Day One


1. University of Denver 375.5
2. IUPUI Jaguars 195
3. South Dakota State University 187
4. The University of South Dakota 168
5. University of Nebraska Omaha 147.5
6. Eastern Illinois University 1036
7. Western Illinois University 62


1. University of Denver 372
2. South Dakota State University 206
3. IUPUI Jaguars 193
4. Western Illinois University 146
5. The University of South Dakota 138
6. Eastern Illinois University 108

Leave a Reply

About Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant

Anne Lepesant is the mother of four daughters, all of whom swim/swam in college. With an undergraduate degree from Princeton (where she was an all-Ivy tennis player) and an MBA from INSEAD, she worked for many years in the financial industry, both in France and the U.S. Anne is currently …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!