16 Teams Ready for Action at Volos

The third edition of the FINA World Women’s Youth Water Polo Championships will take place in Volos (GRE) from August 17-23, 2015, gathering 16 teams from the five continents. Contested by athletes under 18, the distribution of the national squads is done by groups, as follows:

GROUP A: Russia, Greece, Japan, Great Britain
GROUP B: Brazil, South Africa, New Zealand, Hungary
GROUP C: Netherlands, Canada, Italy, Australia
GROUP D: Mexico, Spain, USA, Ukraine

The preliminary round is staged on August 17-19, followed by the Qualification round (August 20), Quarter Final round (August 21), Semi Final round (August 22) and Final round (August 23).

At the previous edition of this event, in 2013, the three squads on the podium were: USA (gold), Spain (silver) and Greece (bronze).

Swimming news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh

Lauren Neidigh is a former NCAA swimmer at the University of Arizona and the University of Florida. She got her M.S. in Criminology from Florida State and seems exceptionally confused about which team she should cheer for during the college football season. Lauren is currently a coach at Loggerhead Aquatics …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!