Zitelow Breaks Another IUPUI Record; D2 UIndy Continues to Lead at House of Champions


A day after setting a new Horizon League Record in the women’s 500 free, IUPUI sophomore Emmaleigh Zietlow was back in the water for another record-setting swim, this time in the 200 free.

Zietlow swam 1:48.01 in the 200 free, which smashed her own school record of 1:49.23 set at last year’s conference championship meet. That drop of more-than-a-second followed a 10 second drop in the 500 free on Thursday.  The league record in the 200 free remains intact as Lexie Joy’s 1:47.24 from 2018 for UIC.

Other notable results on the women’s side included a 4:20.79 from UIndy’s Kaitlyn McCoy, which is the best time in D2 this season by almost five seconds. McCoy didn’t swim this race at last year’s NCAA Division IIChampionships, though her personal best of 4:14 would mark her as a favorite for this year’s national title. Marizel Van Jaarsveld of UIndy, who finished her eligibility last season, won the title in 4:14.0, but nobody else was under 4:15.

UIndy, which competes in D2, finished the day in the lead, including ahead of five Division I teams.

Other women’s race winners on Day 2:

  • UIC’s Taira Juronis won the 100 breaststroke in 1:02.75, fending off a late charge from UIndy’s Anahi Schreuder (1:03.09). That was a best time for Juronis after finishing 3rd at last year’s Horizon League Championships in a 1:03.0.
  • UIndy got another win, this time in the 100 backstroke, from Caroline Reinke. A freshman, her time of 55.29 knocked almost two seconds off her previous best time done in her sophomore year of high school, and should earn her an invite to nationals in March.
  • Johanna Buys of UIndy won the women’s 100 fly in 54.77. That gave her a repeat title at this meet.
  • UIC’s Ciara McCliment won the women’s 1-meter diving with 255.35 points.
  • UIndy opened the session with a win in the women’s 200 medley relay, which included a 25.64 backstroke leg from Julia Magierowska. UIC was 2nd, including a 22.34 anchor from Poleena Kovalaske. IUPUI’s “A” relay was disqualified – they would not have won anyway, but it did cost them a ton of points in the team competition.
  • IUPUI bounced back to win the closing 800 free relay in 7:29.51, almost three seconds ahead of the field. Zietlow split 1:48.99 on a leadoff leg; nobody else was under 1:51 on either a flat or rolling start.

Women’s Scores After Day 2:

  1. UIndy – 1062
  2. UIC – 747
  3. Milwaukee – 685
  4. IUPUI – 649
  5. Butler – 631
  6. Lewis – 466
  7. UW Green Bay – 367

UIndy also took a dominating day 2 lead in the men’s meet, a six team field. After sweeping day one’s events, though, things were more balanced on the second day of competition.

UIndy swept the relays, clocking times of 1:25.56 in the 200 medley and 6:37.94 in the 800 free relay that are each the best in D2 so far this year.

Cedric Buessing added an individual win to that total, breaking the UIndy school record in the 400 IM in 3:46.02. That broke the 2021 school record held by Landon Driggers, when as a freshman he was 2nd at the NCAA D2 Championships. Driggers began his sophomore season at Tennessee this year, where on Friday night in Knoxville he swam 3:41.

Buessing’s swim is also the top time in D2 this season and a new Meet Record.

He wasn’t the only record-breaker on Friday: IUPUI’s Spencer Jyawook won the 100 fly in 46.74. While that was about four-tenths of a second away from his own school record, it broke his Meet Record from last season of 46.85.

Other Men’s Winners on Day 2:

  • Can Burmaoglu from another D2 school, Lewis University, won the 200 free in 1:38.36. He used a big last 50 to pull ahead of UIC’s Jan Komorowski (1:38.66). That was one of two Lewis wins: Nico Jacinto won the 100 back in 47.51, which would have qualified for the B-Final at last year’s NCAA Division II Championships. Jacinto, from the Philippines, is a junior transfer from Texas A&M.
  • IUPUI’s Logan Kelly won a nail-biter in the men’s 100 breaststroke. He touched first in 53.41 ahead of UIndy’s Likith Prema. Prema, the defending GLVC Champion, was 2nd in 53.43. In 2021, Prema became India’s first swimmer to hit an Olympic “A” standard, but he wound up testing positive for COVID and couldn’t swim at the Games. Another UIndy swimmer, Brayden Cole, was 2nd in 53.61.
  • UIndy’s Julio Osuna won the men’s 3-meter diving with a score of 382.13, a new Meet Record by more than 23 points.

Men’s Standings After Day 2:

  1. UIndy – 1,056
  2. IUPUI – 881
  3. Lewis – 740.5
  4. Milwaukee – 593.5
  5. UW Green Bay – 528
  6. UIC – 526


Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder/co-owner of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »