WATER POLO: Australia Wins World League Intercontinental Tournament

The team of Australia won the FINA Men’s Water Polo World League Intercontinental Tournament, held in Corona del Mar, Newport Beach (California, USA) from March 30-April 4, by beating Brazil 9-6 in the decisive match of the competition. In the bronze-medal game, USA comfortably triumphed over China 19-7. All these four teams qualified for the Super Final of the 2015 edition of the World League, to be held in Bergamo (ITA), from June 23-28.

Australia was the only squad of the tournament to have a perfect six-win record, after also leading its group in the qualification phase.

For the remaining teams participating in the competition, Japan got the fifth place after defeating Kazakhstan 15-12, while Canada beat Argentina 18-5 for the seventh spot. The Canadians led their respective group in the qualification action (three wins), but lost by one goal in the quarter-finals against China and in the semis by the same minimal difference against Japan.

The four qualified teams from this Intercontinental Tournament will now face the best four European squads after the Preliminaries in the Old Continent, whose last round is scheduled for April 14.

Final Ranking of the FINA’s Men’s Water Polo World League Intercontinental Tournament:
1. Australia; 2. Brazil; 3. USA; 4. China; 5. Japan; 6. Kazakhstan; 7. Canada; 8. Argentina

New Courtesy FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »