Vall Montero Sweeps Breaststroke Events At Spanish Championships

The women’s 200 breaststroke was the most exciting event on the final evening of the 2014 Spanish National Championships. Marina Garcia Urzainqui took the first 100 meters out in a time of 1:09.45, over half a second ahead of Jessica Vall Montero. Urzainqui maintained that lead going into the final 50 meters of the race. Vall Montero, who was going for the competition’s breaststroke sweep, made her move in the final length of the race out swimming Urzainqui to capture the win in a time of 2:25.37.

Her time was a new championship record breaking Concepcion Badillo Diaz‘s 2013 record of 2:28.74. Vall Montero did not only complete the sweep of the breaststroke events, but she also set new championship records in all three distances.

Urzainqui finished second in a time of 2:25.50 followed by Badillo Diaz who touched in a time of 2:30.72.

Jose Manuel Valdivia Canizares won the men’s 50 butterfly in a time of 23.98. Valdivia Canizares was off of his best time of 23.75, but still had enough to beat Spanish and championship record holder Rafael Munoz Perez who finished in a time of 24.17. Over the weekend Konrad Czerniak of Poland collected titles in the 100 freestyle and 100 butterfly, but tonight had to settle for the bronze finishing in a time of 24.20.

In the women’s 50 butterfly Carmen Herrero Ansoleaga took the event in a time of 27.77. Herrero Ansoleaga was just off her best of 27.65 which she posted at the Spanish National Championships in April to win the bronze. Laura Rodriguez Cao finished second in a time of 27.99 followed by Carla Campo Casajus who touched in a time of 28.15.

Carlos Claverie took the men’s 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:12.93. He was followed by Sergio Garcia Ortiz who finished in a time of 2:16.00 and Mario Cortes Nunez who recorded a 2:16.00.

Beatriz Gomez Cortes broke the only other championship record of the evening taking the women’s 200 IM in a time of 2:14.00. Gomez Cortes’ took down Duane Da Rocha Marce‘s 2009 record of 2:14.67.

Catlina Corro Lorente collected the silver in a time of 2:16.33 followed by Katherine Anne Mills who posted a time of 2:16.75.

On the men’s side Alejandro Garcia Martin won the event in a time of 2:02.11 followed by Alan Cabello Forns who collected the silver in a time of 2:02.25. Joe Alberto Vera-Ortiz Molina finished third in a time of 2:04.08.

Spanish 400 freestyle record holder Melanie Costa Schmid just missed her championship record in the event of 4:09.34 winning in a time of 4:09.73. She was followed by Erika Villacija Garcia who posted a 4:14.62 and Catalina Corro Lorente who finished in a time of 4:15.61.

Arnau Rovira Guillen took the men’s event in a time of 3:53.57 followed by Marc Vivas Egea who recorded a 3:55.15. Ricardo Rosales Rodriguez picked up the bronze finishing in a time of 3:55.98.

Full results can be found here.



In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Still not clear if her times will translate to college short course, but Marina Garcia’s 100 and 200 breast times were encouraging. She appears to be quietly coming back.

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »