U.S. National Teamer Andrew Wilson Earns NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Emory University senior swimmers Marcela Sanchez-Aizcorbe and Andrew Wilson have each been awarded the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, presented to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically, while also serving as leaders in the community.

The pair will each receive a one-time $7,500 scholarship, to be used for postgraduate study within three years. Emory has now been awarded 106 postgraduate scholarships over the school’s history, and its 89 since 2000 is second only to Stanford University for the highest total by any NCAA member.

Sanchez-Aizcorbe played a major role for the Eagles in her career, leading the team to four of its eight consecutive national team titles. At the 2017 national meet in Shenandoah, Texas, she was part of four national championship winning relay teams, helping set three new Division III records: 200 Medley (1:40.83), 200 Freestyle (1:30.52 – DIII record), 400 Medley (3:39.57 – DIII record) and 400 Freestyle (3:19.56 – DIII record). Sanchez-Aizcorbe added individual All-America honors in both the 100 Butterfly and 100 Freestyle events and was an Honorable Mention All-American in the 50 Freestyle.

Over her tremendous four-year career, she was an eight-time national champion, a 16-time All-American, a five-time Honorable Mention All-American, a six-time UAA champion, an eight-time All-UAA performer, a First Team CoSIDA Academic All-America selection in 2017, a Second Team honoree in 2016 and a three-time CSCAA Scholar All-American. A native of Nacogdoches, Texas, Sanchez-Aizcorbe completed degrees in both Finance and Political Science while posting a grade-point average of 3.81.

Wilson, a Bethesda, Maryland native with a 3.83 GPA in Physics and Applied Mathematics, returned to Emory in the fall after spending a year training for the 2016 Rio Olympics and led the Eagles to their first-ever NCAA DIII team title in March. He was named the CSCAA Swimmer of the Year after winning national titles in five events: the 100 Breaststroke (50.94), 200 Breaststroke (1:50.80), 200 IM (1:44.18), 200 Medley Relay (1:26.14) and 400 Medley Relay (3:10.51) with all five times setting new national records.

During his Eagle career, Wilson became Emory’s first two-time CoSIDA DIII Academic All-American of the Year in any sport and was a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team selection. He was a two-time CSCAA National Swimmer of the Year, 10-time national champion, 17-time All-American, two-time UAA Swimmer of the Year, 15-time UAA Champion, 20-time All-UAA finisher, 14-time UAA Athlete of the Week honoree and a three-time CSCAA Scholar All-American.

The Emory University Swimming and Diving teams have now seen 49 of its members awarded the scholarship, including 27 winners over the last 10 years.  Since 2000, the Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving programs have garnered 45 NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships.

The scholarships are given to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. The Association awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women.

Press Release courtesy of Emory Athletics.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!