Tight Finishes, Huge Time Drops Mark Day 2 of Des Moines Futures

by Spencer Penland 0

August 03rd, 2019 Club, News, Previews & Recaps

2019 Futures Championships – Des Moines

  • August 1-4th
  • Greater Des Moines YMCA, Des Moines, IA
  • Long Course Meters (LCM)
  • Results on MeetMobile. search “2019 Futures Championships”

Day 2 of the Des Moines Futures Championships featured the 200 free, 100 breast, 100 fly, and 400 IM individually. Aurora Roghair, a 16-year-old out of Iowa Flyers Swim Club, won the women’s 200 free in 2:02.68, touching first by over a second. The swim marked a best time by nearly a full second, as Roghair’s previous best time was 2:03.48. 16-Year-Old Jaden Luo (Austin Swim Club) and 17-year-old Carter Nelson (Flyers Aquatic Swim Team) tied for 1st in the men’s 200 free, both clocking a 1:53.10. Nelson took the race out faster, flipping at the 50 mark in 26.20 to Luo’s 26.93. Luo then outsplit Nelson on the middle 100, splitting 28.82/28.95 to Nelson’s 29.36/29.26. Nelson then brought it home faster, splitting 28.28 on the final 50 to Luo’s 28.40. Nelson’s swim marked a drop from his previous best of 1:54.74, while Luo was off his personal best of 1:52.78.

16-Year-Old Adry Kasemets (Patriot Aquatic Club) won the women’s 100 breast in 1:12.63, touching out 18-year-old Katie McBratney (Pitchfork Aquatics) by .01 seconds. Not only did Kasemets only win by .01 seconds, she and McBratney swam almost the exact same race. Kasemets took the race out in 33.91, while McBratney split 33.92, and both swimmers came home in 38.72. The swim marked a big time drop for Kasemets, who came into the meet with a best of 1:15.88, while McBratney’s personal best is 1:11.46.

BYU’s Ryan Sorensen clocked a personal best en route to winning the men’s 100 breast. Sorensen raced to a 1:04.00, which undercut his previous best of 1:04.83, which he had swum in July of this year. 17-Year-Olds Catherine Russo (Bozeman Multisport Aquatics) and Katherine Zenick (Unattached) battled it out in the women’s 100 fly for yet another tight finish. Catherine Russo was out in 28.13 and back in 32.48 for a final time of 1:00.61, while Zenick took it out in 27.92, and came back in 32.81 for a time of 1:00.73. Russo dropped almost 2 seconds from her best of 1:02.48, while Zenick undercut her previous best of 1:01.13.

Jason Schroeder (Unattached), 24, won the men’s 100 fly by over a second, clocking a 55.14. His race marked a personal best by .61 seconds. 17-Year-Old Rylie Lopez (Austin SwimClub) won the women’s 400 IM by nearly 3.5 seconds, touching in 4:55.32. The swim marked a huge drop for Lopez, whose previous best was 5:02.84 from March of this year. 16-Year-Old Tanner Nelson (Utah Valley Aquatics) swam a 4:27.97 to win the men’s 400 IM. Nelson came into the meet with a personal best of 4:35.12.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments