Texas Loads Up on Big 12 Post-Season Awards

by Retta Race 2

April 19th, 2015 Big 12, College

The University of Texas Longhorns were not only victorious as the 2015 men’s and women’s Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championship title winners, but a sizable contingent on each roster raked in the overall end of year conference awards as well.  Iowa State was able to nab Women’s Newcomer of the Year via their standout freshman Kasey Roberts, as well as a diving coaching award, however, the remainder were all Longhorns.

The Women’s Swimmer of the Year, Madisyn Cox, took individual conference titles in both the 200 IM and 400 IM, with the latter being one of the more competitive races of the meet for the Longhorns ass he battled Kansas junior Chelsie Miller. Cox went on to take 3rd and 5th, respectively, at the NCAA Championships in those same events.

Her male counterpart Will Licon took a clean sweep of his events at the Big 12 Championship meet, winning the 200 IM, 400 IM, and 200 breaststroke (the same three events that Cox raced, coincidentally). At the NCAA Championships, he was 2nd in the 200 IM (behind only the all-time-best win from David Nolan); won the 400 IM over the two-time defending champion Chase Kalisz; and won the 200 breaststroke over the two-time champion Kevin Cordes.

While the official CSCAA award for National Swimmer of the Year went to Cal’s Ryan Murphy, Licon’s case, given the roster of swimmers that he beat, was a strong one, with the difference being Murphy’s contribution to four relays as compared to Licon’s swim on just one.

Schooling was an easy choice for Newcomer of the Year, having won the NCAA titles in both the 100 fly and 200 fly toward an overall Texas team title in his freshman season.

While Roberts didn’t qualify for the NCAA Championships, she placed 4th at the conference meet in the 200 IM, 5th in the 100 breaststroke, and 3rd in the 200 breaststroke. In each of those events, she was the highest-placing freshman at that meet.

Below are the postseason winners, as voted by the league’s head coaches (note: coaches are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes).

Women’s Swimmer of the Year – Madisyn Cox, Sophomore, Texas

Men’s Swimmer of the Year – Will Licon, Sophomore, Texas

Women’s Diver of the Year – Murphy Bromberg, Sophomore, Texas

Men’s Diver of the Year – Mark Anderson, Sophomore, Texas

Women’s Newcomer of the Year – Kasey Roberts, Freshman, Iowa State

Men’s Newcomer of the Year – Joseph Schooling, Freshman, Texas

Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year –  Carol Capitani, Texas

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year – Eddie Reese, Texas

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year – Jeff Warrick, Iowa State

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year – Matt Scoggin, Texas

Additional details on each winner available here.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

2 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
2 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Cox & Licon are both sophomores from Texas.

Phil Jackson

I had been trying to tell you all but what do I know? Only got enough rings for every finger and a couple toes. Licon is the truth. He was the best individual swimmer at Ncaas and has a 23 tattooed on his inner thigh. Fastest medley relay ever 3:01.23. Not a coincidence. He already reserved the 23rd floor for his family and friends at hotel de Rio

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!