Meet Records Continue to Fall on Final Day of 2018 Swim Cup The Hague


The third and final day of the 2018 Swim Cup The Hague in The Hague, Netherlands, featured finals for the men’s and women’s 800 free, 100 fly, 200 IM, 200 back, 50 breast, and 50 free. The day also featured timed finals for the para 200 IM, 100 fly, and 50 free.

In the para 200 IM, SM10 swimmer Duncan van Haaren took first in 2:15.06. Fellow SM10 swimmer Bas Takken took second in 2:15.32, and SM12 swimmer Rogier Dorsman took third in 2:20.41. In the women’s race, SM11 swimmer Liesette Bruinsma took first in 2:49.49, followed by SM10 swimmer Lisa Kruger in 2:30.44, and SM10 swimmer Chantalle Zijderveld.

In the men’s 800 free, William Ryley took first in 8:17.00, followed by Thomas Thijs in 8:26.05, and Jorgos Skotadis in 8:28.60. In the women’s race, Serena Stel won in 8:54.44, followed by Laura Setz in 8:55.23, and Marij van der Mast in 9:02.29.

In the men’s 100 fly, Mathys Goosen set a meet record in 53.16. Ruben Stam took second in 55.88, followed by Jens Krijgsman in 56.00. Kinge Zandringa set a meet record in the women’s race, going 59.24. Ranomi Kromowidjojo took second in 59.46, followed by Elinore de Jong in 59.59.

S14 swimmer Marc Evers won the men’s para 100 fly in 58.47, followed by S14 swimmer Michiel Jorink in 1:01.09 and S9 swimmer Thijs van den End in 1:07.17. S11 swimmer Liesette Bruinsma took first in the women’s race, going 1:24.25. S10 swimmer Chantalle Zijderveld took second in 1:10.36, followed by S10 swimmer Florianne Bultje in 1:13.53.

Arjan Kipping set a meet record in the men’s 200 IM, winning in 2:02.17. Kyle Stolk took second place in 2:02.90, followed by Jacob Greenow in 2:04.41. In the women’s race, Marjolein Delno took first in 2:16.65, followed by Claire Verkijk in 2:22.26, and Silke Holkenborg in 2:22.85.

In the men’s 200 back, Joseph Hulme downed the meet record in 2:01.67. Jari Groenhart and Sjobbe Luyten tied for second place in 2:02.96. Tessa Vermeulen set a meet record in the women’s race, going 2:13.17. Marieke Tienstra was second in 2:14.79, and Sterre Mooiweer third in 2:15.50.

Ties Elzerman won the men’s 50 breast in 27.45, followed by Arno Kamminga in 27.95. Juri Dijkstra took third in 28.55, setting a new Dutch junior record. In the women’s race, Tes Schouten won in 31.13, setting a new Dutch record for 18-year-olds. Rosey Metz took second in 31.88, followed by Anne Palmans in 32.87.

In the men’s 50 free, Jesse Puts set a new meet record, winning in 21.95. Thom de Boer took second in 22.32, and Nyls Korstanje third in 22.45. Kim Busch won the women’s race in 25.18, followed by Valerie van Roon in 25.21 and Tamara van Vliet in 25.48.

S9 swimmer Sven Schutte topped the men’s para 50 free in 27.08, followed by S9 swimmer Tim van Duuren in 27.53, and S10 swimmer Duncan van Haaren in 25.61. S10 swimmer Chantalle Zijderveld won the women’s race in 28.35, followed by S10 swimmer Lisa Kruger in 28.36 and S14 swimmer Amber van der Kruk in 29.32.


In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Torrey Hart

Torrey Hart

Torrey is from Oakland, CA, and majored in media studies and American studies at Claremont McKenna College, where she swam distance freestyle for the Claremont-Mudd-Scripps team. Outside of SwimSwam, she has bylines at Sports Illustrated, Yahoo Sports, SB Nation, and The Student Life newspaper.

Read More »