All Star Teams Set to Compete at New Zealand’s Zonal Championships

The Zonal Championships, which is one day competition with two age groups 15 and under and 16 and over will be held next weekend in Auckland.

11 clubs from the Wellington and Manawatu regions of combined forces and will be sending an all-star team to the event.

Emma Robinson is the most notable swimmer on the team. Robinson represented New Zealand at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow finishing 16th in the 200 freestyle and was a member of the 4 x 200 freestyle relay which just out on a medal finishing fourth.

There will also be two members of the Junior Pan Pacific Championships team on the all star team. Ben Walsh who finished 14th in the 200 breaststroke and Liam Albery who finished 4th in the 10km, eighth in the 400 IM, 13th in the 200 butterfly and 16th in the 400 freestyle.

The team will also include 14 year old Maya Rasmussen who recently broke both the long and short course records in the 400 IM (SCM – 4:49.05   LCM – 4:53.89) as well as Xavier Hill who set new 13 year old short course marks in the 50 (27.16) and 100 butterfly (59.68) at the 2014 Short Course National Championships.

The full team:


Ben Walsh (Porirua), Blake Gunn (Kiwi West), Devlin Forsythe (Karori Pirates), Hamish Trlin (Capital), Jacob Smith (Carterton), Joe Hammond (Carterton), Kyle Barnes (Capital), Liam Albery (Capital), Nicholas Crott (Capital), Tom England (Capital), Alex Pampalone (SwimZone), Bronagh Ryan (Porirua), Emma Robinson (Capital), Jenna Buchanan (Kiwi West), Josie Kozyniak (Capital), Maggie Burns (Capital), Nikki Chapman (Capital), Rachel Smart (Tawa), Rebecca Moynihan (Raumati), Sarah O’Connor (Karori Pirates).


Aragorn More (SwimZone), Brendan de Greve (SwimZone), Cameron Gillespie (Dannevirke), Campbell Tacon (Capital), George Dorrington (Karori Pirates), Lewis Clareburt (Capital), Patrick Langley (SwimZone), Shawn O’Hara (Kapiti), Tom Berry (SwimZone),  Xavier Hill (Kiwi West), Aliesha Mitchell (Karori Pirates), Chelsey Edwards (SwimZone), Elena Forlong (Wanganui), Jessica Iggo (Capital), Keely McKnight (Kiwi West), Macy Burns ( Capital), Maya Rasmussen (Kiwi West), Ruby Heath (SwimZone), Shannon Schimanski (Wanganui), Tsai Stevens (SwimZone).


Gary Hurring, Craig Albery, Nevill Sutton, Andrew Nichols


Leave a Reply

About Jeff Grace

Jeff Grace

Jeff is a 500 hour registered yoga teacher who holds diplomas in Coaching (Douglas College) and High Performance Coaching (National Coaching Institute - Calgary). He has a background of over 20 years in the coaching profession, where he has used a unique and proven teaching methodology to help many achieve their …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!