SOCAL Girls & Vanguard Boys Take Gold At 2013 Champions Cup

The TYR Champions Cup returned to the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on the campus of Indiana University in 2013. Despite a tornado warning that delayed the start of the boys division championship game, the event was a great success with the boys of Vanguard winning their first Champions Cup crown and the girls of SOCAL earning gold for the fourth time in the last five years.

2013 TYR Champions Cup (courtesy of USA Water Polo)

2013 TYR Champions Cup (courtesy of USA Water Polo)

On Sunday, November 17 Vanguard emerged from taking cover to top SOCAL 9-5 to claim their first ever TYR Champions Cup crown. In the bronze medal match Stanford outlasted Shaq winning in a shootout 9-8. In the rest of the boy’s standings, LA Premier edged Greenwich 6-5 for fifth place while San Diego Shores defeated Santa Barbara 11-9 for seventh place. The rest of the standings saw Commerce in 9th, CPD in 10th, West Sub in 11th, and Spartan in 12th.

On Monday afternoon SOCAL held off a rally from Santa Barbara to take the match and the title 8-6. SOCAL had been stopped in 2012 by Santa Barbara, halting their three-peat, but found redemption this time around. In third place it was 680 stopping Diablo 8-5, Rose Bowl downed Stanford 7-2 for fifth, and Commerce edged United 10-9 for seventh.

Also on Sunday morning the 2013 TYR Champions Cup Sportsmanship Awards were given out. The annual awards are named in honor of two Olympians, Maureen O’Toole (girls) and Jody Campbell(boys). Recipients are selected from each team by their coaches.

2013 TYR Champions Cup Standings (Boys)
1 Vanguard
3 Stanford
5 LA Premier
6 Greenwich
7 SD Shores
8 Santa Barbara
9 Commerce
10 CPD
11 West Sub
12 Spartan

2013 TYR Champions Cup Standings (Girls)

2 Santa Barbara
3 680
4 Diablo
5 Rose Bowl
6 Stanford
7 Commerce
8 United
9 Greenwich
10 CPD
11 SD Shores

2013 TYR Sportsmanship Award Recipients

David Medina,  Chicago Park District
Ricardo Reyes,  Commerce
Thatcher Scannell,  Greenwich Aquatics
Sam Krutonog,  LA Premier
Benny Brown,   San Diego Shores
Henry Hepp,   Santa Barbara
Alexander Lansill,  SHAQ
Chasen Peterson,  SOCAL
Zachary Sneathen,  Spartan WPC
Nik Caryotakis,  Stanford
Cameron Reagan,  Vanguard
Benjamin Russo,  West Sub-Naperville

Jolie Trujillo,   680
Leslie Garfias,  Chicago Park District
Bryana Santis,  Commerce
Alex Brown,   Diablo
Paige Furano,   Greenwich Aquatics
Claire Hass,   NIPC
Megan Kelleher,  Rose Bowl
Gen Petrassi,   SD Shores
Joscelyn Thorp,   Santa Barbara
Bella Baia,   SOCAL
Allison Sullivan,  Stanford
Lindsey Torgerson,  United

About USA Water Polo 
USA Water PoloUSA Water Polo, Inc. is the national governing body for water polo in America, overseeing our United States Olympic program as well as 20 different championship events annually, such as Junior Olympics and Masters National Championships. With more than 40,000 members, USAWP is also the sanctioning authority for more than 500 Member Clubs and more than 400 tournaments nationwide. USAWP is committed to the development of the sport throughout the US. It fosters grass-roots expansion of the sport, providing a national system of affiliated clubs, certified coaches and officials.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!