Then-Seniors Beisel, deBorde Named Florida’s Most Valuable Swimmers for 2013-2014 Season

Braden Keith
by Braden Keith 0

September 12th, 2014 College, News, SEC

Gainesville, Fla. – Head Coach Gregg Troy and his staff announced the award winners from the 2013-14 season on Friday night at the team’s annual awards banquet. For the women, Elizabeth Beisel, Natalie Hinds, Taylor Katz, Jordan Smith and Kahlia Warner were honored. Meanwhile, Jack Blyzinskyj, Marcin Cieslak, Mitch D’Arrigo, Brad deBorde, Zach Hernandez and Sebastien Rousseau earned accolades on the men’s side. The awards were voted on and decided by the UF coaching staff.

“This weekend is a tremendous opportunity to create connections between the past, present and future,” Coach Troy said. “To honor last year’s efforts in the company of past Gators is a special time.”

In addition to the awards banquet, Splash Weekend continues tomorrow with the annual Alumni Swim Meet at 11 a.m. in the Stephen O’Connell Center Natatorium. Following the meet, there will be a barbeque at 1 p.m. in the Gate 3 lobby of the O’Connell Center. This weekend then concludes with the 2014 Southeastern Conference Championship men’s team being recognized at the end of the first quarter during the Gators football game tomorrow night against Kentucky. Last season’s title was the second straight for UF and the 35th overall in Florida’s storied history.

Tomorrow’s barbecue is great to see old teammates reunite and enjoy time together,” Troy said in closing.


Skip Foster Most Valuable Swimmer Award

  • Men: Brad deBorde
  • Women: Elizabeth Beisel

Giovanni Linscheer Award — Awarded to the athlete who contributed the most to the overall success of the team and displayed dedication, leadership and a positive attitude and solid performances

  • Men: Sebastian Rousseau
  • Women: Natalie Hinds

Donald Gibb Award — Awarded to the athlete who performed above and beyond expectations 

  • Men: Jack Blyzinskyj
  • Women: Jordan Smith

Bill Harlan Award – Awarded to a diver who brought national recognition to the University of Florida 

  • Men: Zach Hernandez
  • Women: Kahlia Warner

Tracy Caulkins Outstanding Freshman Award – Awarded to a freshman based upon her performance at SEC’s & NCAA’s. This individual exemplifies the competitive spirit of Tracy Caulkins i.e., dedication, tenacity and a great will to win

  • Taylor Katz

Tiger Holmes Caulkins Outstanding Freshman Award – Awarded to a freshman based upon her performance at SEC’s & NCAA’s. This individual exemplifies the competitive spirit of Tiger Holmes

  • Mitch D’Arrigo

Leadership Award – Awarded to a senior Gator whose leadership was instrumental to the team’s overall success 

  • Men: Connor Signorin
  • Women: Elizabeth Beisel

Academic Award – Awarded to an athlete who achieved academic excellence  

  • Men: Elizabeth Beisel
  • Women: Brad deBorde

Special Performance Award 

  • Marcin Cieslak

Tiger Holmes Award – Awarded to individuals whose outstanding support for the UF swimming & diving department, i.e., officials, Splash Club member, volunteer

  • Paul Ackerman
  • Steve Zarzecki

Bill Harlan Spirit Award – Awarded to an individual that most exemplifies a genuine commitment to the UF swimming program 

  • Jackson Leonard


The Florida women’s team opens up its 2014-15 season in two weeks when the Gators host Arkansas on Saturday, Sept. 27 at 11 a.m. in the O’Connell Center Natatorium. The Gators are 5-0 all-time against the Razorbacks and last defeated them on October 20, 2011 when UF bested the Razorbacks, 173-125 in Fayetteville.

The above is a press release submitted to SwimSwam.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »