Seebohm’s Coach David Lush Earns ‘Coach Of The Year’ Honors

David Lush, coach of world champion and Olympic medalist Emily Seebohm, has been named ‘Coach of the Year’ by the Australian Swimming Coaches and Teachers Association. Lush is based out of Brisbane Grammar and, at just 37 years of age, is one of the youngest ever recipients of the prestigious honor.

Seebohm joined Lush back in 2015 after her former coach, Matt Brown, took another job in Melbourne. At that year’s World Championships, Seebohm became the first-ever Australian 100m/200m backstroke dual champion. Although she came away without an individual event medal in Rio, Seebohm, raced back with a vengeance in Budapest, capturing her nation’s only individual World Championships gold by winning the 200m back. That significant performance also earned Lush the ‘Outstanding Achievement’ award.

Another notable name of Dean Boxall was recognized as the Australian Age Group Coach of the Year. The St. Peters Western leader has Mitch Larkin, Ariarne Titmus Clyde Lewis and Jack Cartwright all under his tutelage. All performed very well at this year’s Commonwealth Games, with Larkin snatching up 4 individual golds and Titmus winning the 400m and 800m freestyle events.

Also awarded by the ASCTA was Robbie Van Der Zant of Yeronga Park, who claimed Multi Class Coach of the Year honors for his efforts with Paralympian Rowan Crothers. Michael Sage took home the ‘Open Water Coach of the Year’ award after success with his top athlete, Chelsea Gubecka.

All those recognized by the ASCTA this past weekend:

2018 ASCTA-Swim Australia Gala Dinner, Awards, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre: Coach of the Year (2017) David Lush. Teacher of the Year: Kerryn Harber. Outstanding Coaching Achievement (2017): David Lush. Open Water Coach of the Year (2017): Michael Sage; Multi Class Coach of the Year (2017): Robert Van der Zant. Masters Coach of the Year: Peter Johnston; Age Group Coach of the Year (2018): Dean Boxall. Meritorious Service to the Teaching of Swimming in Australia: Kylie Hammond. Outstanding Contribution to Swimming in Australia: Vince Raleigh. Life Members: Lynn Elliott; Carol Gathercole; SwimSAFER Awards: Ripples Leisure Centre; Holsworthy Aquatic Centre; Splash Swim School. Outstanding Community Service Award: Sunny Skye’s Swimming and Parties; Crawchy’s Swim School; The Glennie Aquatic; Nepean Aquatic. Best Swim School for Marketing, Promotion and Customer Service: Superfish Swim School. Best Swim School Innovation: Parafields Gardens Swim School; SwimECO; Seadragonz Swim School; Outstanding Supporters Award: Vorgee; Kids Alive; Dawn Fraser.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Retta Race

Retta Race

Swim analyst, businesswoman.

Read More »