Rosset takes the 3m at the FINA Diving Grand Prix in Bolzano

Divers from a total nine nations – China, Finland, France, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Norway and Russia – occupied the podium at the sixth stop of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014, held in Bolzano (ITA) on August 1-3.

France’s Matthieu Rosset took out the men’s 3m springboard with a final 454.95, besting Japanese Ken Terauchi (second, 453.95) and Sho Sakai (third, 449.45). In the platform, Yu Okamoto (JPN) reached the highest podium, stunning Chinese Xiao Hiu Tai (403.85). Local favourite Francesco Dell’Uomo claimed third spot, earning a total 379.15. Russian pair Viacheslav Novoselov/Evgeny Novoselov was the best in the 3m synchro while China’s Xio Hu Tai/Jun Jie Lian finished first in the platform synchro event.

Among women, local star Tania Cagnotto proved tremendous in the 3m springboard, beating Chinese Lin Qu with a comfortable margin, 350.10 against 306.65. British Katherine Torrance was third with a total 297.95. In the platform, Yu Ji Xia of China (315.25 points) edged Japanese Minami Itahashi by just 0.25 while France’s Laura Marino completed the podium (302.20 points). In synchro action, Tania Cagnotto formed a winning combination with Francesca Dallape in the springboard, finishing ahead of the Dutch and Finnish pairs. In the platform, China clinched their third title of the three-day meet.

The seventh stop of the FINA Diving Grand Prix is Singapore (SIN) on October 17-19 while Kuala Lumpur (MAS) will conclude the 2014 series on October 24-26.



3m springboard: 1. Matthieu Rosset (FRA) 454.95; 2. Ken Terauchi (JPN) 453.95; 3. Sho Sakai (JPN) 449.45
10m platform: 1. Yu Okamoto (JPN) 458.70; 2. Xiao Hiu Tai (CHN) 403.85; 3. Francesco Dell’Uomo (ITA) 379.15
3m springboard synchro: 1. Viacheslav Novoselov/Evgeny Novoselov (RUS) 390.99; 2. Michele Benedetti/Tommaso Rinaldi (ITA) 377.16; 3. Jack Haslam/Sam Thornton (GBR) 372.45
10m platform synchro: 1. Xio Hu Tai/Jun Jie Lian (CHN) 413.49; 2. Yu Okamoto/Kazuki Murakami (JPN); 3. Amund Gismervik/Espen Valheim (NOR) 359.40


3m springboard: 1. Tania Cagnotto (ITA) 350.10; 2. Lin Qu (CHN) 306.65; 3. Katherine Torrance (GBR) 297.95
10m platform: 1. Yu Ji Xia (CHN) 315.25; 2. Minami Itahashi (JPN) 315.00; 3. Laura Marino (FRA) 302.20
3m springboard synchro: 1. Tania Cagnotto/Francesca Dallape (ITA) 297.90; 2. Inge Jansen/Uschi Freitag (NED) 287.40; 3. Iira Laatunen/Taina Karvonen (FIN) 266.91
10m platform synchro: 1. Yu Jie Xia/Bing-Qing Xia (CHN) 310.47; 2. Minami Itahashi/Fuka Tatsumi (JPN) 246.21; 3. No other team

Diving News / Swimming News courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »