Ricky Berens, US Olympic Trials Preview

  24 Gold Medal Mel Stewart | June 17th, 2012 | Featured, Gold Medal Minute, News | Sponsored by: SwimOutlet.com

In This Story

Leave a Reply

24 Comments on "Ricky Berens, US Olympic Trials Preview"


Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Jean Michel
4 years 3 months ago

This amazing Berens will surprise this summer …..i bet on that !!! he is faster than ever on 100 and 200 free . He may be in the 2 to go to London ! what an exciting year

Jean Michel
4 years 3 months ago

Rightly mentioned Mel , the after the wall dolphin kicks is a secret weapon to improve for him . he knows Lochte ( especially ) and Phelps have speed thanks to their dolphins kicks and therefore winning results . If we watch again and again the 200 free of Shangai , Lochte beats everybody by going out fast and kicking so deep on the 2d and third wall . It’s just so obvious that dolphin kicks is a important factor for Ricky to improve . Is he does it well , than , there will be more intensity on 200 ; and on the relays !

junker23
4 years 3 months ago

He’s a much better bet to finish top 2 in the 100, no? You’ve gotta assume Adrian’s the favorite there, but there seems like 3 or 4 guys that’ll be real close for that second individual spot. (Feigen, Weber-Gale and Lezak, maybe Grevers, too.)

He’d place higher individually at the Olympics in the 200, but getting in ahead of Phelps and Lochte is a hell of a lot harder than that group in the 100.

Jean Michel
4 years 3 months ago

On 1OO free , Ricky has a great chance to be close to Adrian …as many others ! On 200 ,the tast is way harder with the 2 underwater monsters ….hehehe but He will be faster than last year for sure .

joe
4 years 3 months ago

I like Ricky Berens, but Adrian has greatly been uncontested in the 50 and 100 free I think he has the top spot in those events for sure

Swimmer
4 years 3 months ago

A 144.5 by Ricky will be a drop of over 2.5sec from his current textile best. Very unlikely to happen this year. A 145 mid is more realistic. He will get his chance at an individual spot at the next WCs when MP is retired.

aswimfan
4 years 3 months ago

swimmer, I agree with you.

a 1:44.5 is HIGHLY unrealistic for Berens.

I also agree with previous comments from Junker that Berens has better chance in the 100, although I think that second spot will be taken by Feigen.

Jeah
4 years 3 months ago

Its not who is better, its whos better on the day. Only time will tell.

But relay predictions are:

4×200
Phelps
Lochte
Berens
Vanderkayy
Dwyer
Matt Mclean

4×100
Phelps
Berens
Lochte
Adrian
Feigen
lezak or weber gale

50 (slugfest for 2nd)
adrian
Schneider/feigen/jones

Nostradamus
4 years 3 months ago

I don’t see Cullen as a threat in the 50. His time has come and passed.

Nostradamus
4 years 3 months ago

I’d like to see scott robison challenge for a relay spot too, he could get it in either of the free relays.

Jean Michel
4 years 3 months ago

Goood predictions JEAH !!!!

don
4 years 3 months ago

Berens is a terrific swimmer, no doubt and he has great underwaters bbut it has to be more than dolphin kicks. I see a lot of the Europeans swimming fast that don’t have those 11 kicks of the wall: Agnel, Muffet, Biederman .They are faster than some swimmers that have better underwaters so maybe its not so simple.

Jeah
4 years 3 months ago

who ever has more in the tank at the third turn will get it. Berens needs 2 be ahead, but no to the point where he burns his bridges. This is going 2 be the trials best event in my opinion. Much more competitive, for the 6 spots, compared 2 the backstrokes, historically usa’s best.

Jeah
4 years 3 months ago

i predict a breakout swim for berens, in and around the 1:45.0 lvl…..but the question is whether or not it will be enough. Only time will tell if tapers are hit well

Paul Spencer
4 years 3 months ago

I like Ricky Berens and he is a great swimmer, however I dont believe that he will beat phelps or lochte at trials. Both are undergoing incredibly strenuous work out regiments in preparation for London and it will show at trials. I wish Ricky luck but I have a strong feeling that the only 200 free he will be doing will be in a relay.

4 years 3 months ago

Ricky’s 100 Free seems to be one of the sleeper possibilities at these trials and it will be fun to watch. Looks like Longhorn swimming will be well represented in the sprints!!! So just what’s the altitude in Austin these days – 86 feet above MSL?

bluefish
4 years 3 months ago

Gold Medal Mel, I completely agree with you. I believe Ricky can be 1:44 low. I mean hes been 1:47.5 mid season. thats very promising for a 1:44.

aswimfan
4 years 3 months ago

Bluefish, there is an ocean between 1:47.5 and 1:44low.

Andy Dixon
4 years 3 months ago

I think Ricky can go 1:44, sure, probably high. But I think Phelps and Lochte will both be 1:43 high to 1:44 low to take the top 2 spots in the 200 free. In the 100 free Ricky has a legitimate shot at the second spot. After Adrian, there are definitely a group of four or five guys that can grab that second spot, and Ricky is as capable as any. Whoever gets that second spot will have to be sub :48 to do it. Regardless Ricky is going to almost certainly be on the 4×200 and probably 4×100 relays so at least he’s going to have 2 shots at getting a medal in Beijing.

wpDiscuz

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »