New Zealand Names 35 To Oceanic Championship Roster

New Zealand has named 35 swimmers to their roster for the Oceanic Championships, set to take place June 21-24 in Suva, Fiji. The strong team of 18 women and 17 men will look for a repeat performance from the last championship meet held two years ago, where New Zealand (21) had more event wins than Australia (19).

The team is highlighted by rising young star Gabrielle Fa’amausili, who recently won 6 events at the New Zealand Age Group Championships.

The team is as follows:

Women: Claudia Ashby, Jacey Cropp, Carina Doyle, Ellie Eastwood, Hayley Edmond, Gabrielle Fa’amausili, Chloe Francis, Bobbi Gichard, Stefannie Gillespie, Monique King, Yeonsu Lee, Millie MacDonald, Georgia Marris, Annabelle Paterson, Emily Rennell, Bronagh Ryan, Mary Tate and Sammy Winward.

Men: Troy Balvert, Corneille Coetzee, Wilrich Coetzee, Jackson Cropp, Jackson Dawson, Isaac Foote, Jacob Garrod, Daniel Hunter, Matt Hyde, Mario Koenigsperger, Bayley Main, Jonathon Rutter, George Schroder, Matthew Scott, Andrew Trembath, David Van Der Star and Julian Weir.

Find the release on the New Zealand Swimming website here.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About James Sutherland

James Sutherland

James swam five years at Laurentian University in Sudbury, Ontario, specializing in the 200 free, back and IM. He finished up his collegiate swimming career in 2018, graduating with a bachelor's degree in economics. In 2019 he completed his graduate degree in sports journalism. Prior to going to Laurentian, James swam …

Read More »