Missy Franklin Wins AAU’s Sullivan Award As Nation’s Top Amateur Athlete

Missy Franklin has been named the winner of the 83rd annual Sullivan Award, which is handed out by the Amateur Athletic Union to the world’s top amateur athlete every year.

Franklin won the honor over fellow finalists Liz Brenner, a four-sport athlete at the University of Oregon, and junior weightlifter Darren Barnes.

The award was presented at a ceremony at the AAU Headquarters in Lake Buena Vista, Florida on Saturday. She becomes the 12th swimmer to win the award in its long and prestigious history.

  • Ann Curtis 1944
  • Don Schollander 1964
  • Debbie Meyer 1968
  • John Kinsella 1970
  • Mark Spitz 1971
  • Tim Shaw 1975
  • John Naber 1977
  • Tracy Caulkins 1978
  • Janet Evans 1989
  • Michael Phelps 2003
  • Jessica Long 2006
  • Missy Franklin 2013

Leave a Reply

10 Comments on "Missy Franklin Wins AAU’s Sullivan Award As Nation’s Top Amateur Athlete"

newest oldest most voted

Does the Sullivan still have the same level of importance as it did years ago?


Phelps turned pro in 2001, how could he have won this award in 2003?

As far as I can tell it’s for the top American amateur athlete. Sullivan award is presented by the American AAU. Either way, congrats Missy!

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!