Michigan Men and Women Take Home Victories In the First Big Ten Meet of the Season

The first Big Ten swim meet of the year has wrapped up in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The Iowa Hawkeyes, under the direction of head coach, Marc Long, competed against the Michigan Wolverines. The Michigan men, and defending National Champions, won their season opener with a score of 182-110.

Michigan was off to an early start with a win in the 200 medley relay, but a 2-3 finish from Iowa kept them in good position. Following the relay, Connor Jaeger led the distance freestyle group to a 1-2-3-4 finish in the 1000 freestyle, touching in 9:04.53 to start the season. The freestylers continued with a 1-4 finish in the 200 freestyle, led by Anders Nielsen with a B-cut time.

In the 100 backstroke, Wojciechowski won the event for Michigan, but Iowa took the next 4 spots, finishing 2-3-4-5. Iowa’s Dustin Rhoads posted a 49.22 to start the season. Michigan’s Richard Funk and Iowa’s Andrew Marciniak both posted 55’s in the 100 breaststroke, Funk swimming a B-cut time. Dylan Bosch was the next to post a B-cut time, winning the 200 butterfly in 1:46.99.

In the 200 back, the Iowa men showed their depth, finishing 2-3-4-5th. Iowa has shown that they have five backstrokers ready to compete and race this year, and finishing 2-5 against the defending national champions is a very positive way to start the season.

Iowa’s Roman Trussov won the 200 breaststroke, posting a 2:01.

Jaeger earned his second individual victory of the evening, winning the 500 freestyle in 4:27.09. Dylan Bosch then won the 100 butterfly in 48.75 with his second win of the meet.

Kyle Whitaker swam the final B-cut time of the meet in the 200 IM, swimming to a time of  1:48.77.

View the men’s results here.

The Michigan women defeated the Iowa women with a score of 185-111.

The Michigan women started off the meet with a 1-2 finish in the 200 medley relay. Kelsey Cummings won the 1000 freestyle in a time of 10:06.17 to start the season. Then Courtney Beidler continued in the 200 freestyle, touching the wall first in 1:50.72.

Ali DeLoof won the 100 backstroke in a time of 55.25 and Angie Chokran won the 100 breaststroke in 1:03.32. Courtney Beidler won her second event of the night with a 2:02.17 in the 200 butterfly.

Michigan had won every event to this point. Iowa’s Emma Sougstad won the 50 freestyle in a time of 23.84. That win gave Iowa a fair amount of momentum headed into the next few events. Joelle Christy won the 3 meter diving and Olivia Kabacinski touched first in the 100 freestyle, winning the event in 52.00. Haley Gordon won the 100 butterfly in 56.43.

Michigan regained control at this point in the meet, winning the last two events. Marni Oldershaw won the 200 IM with a time of 2:03.58. Michigan won the 400 freestyle relay to close the meet.

View the women’s results here.

Both Michigan and Iowa will be back in action tomorrow at the Michigan Water Carnival. The meet starts tomorrow at 11am Eastern.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

5 Comment threads
0 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
5 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

GO BLUE! Mike bottom is awesome


iowa… ouch…. michigan looking deep as usual though.


It looks like Michigan just started exhibitioning most of their races

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »