Meehan and Salo Named Pac-12 Women’s Swimming Co-Coaches of the Year

Both Stanford’s Greg Meehan and USC’s Dave Salo were honored as the Pac-12 Women’s coaches of the year.

USC triumphed at Pac-12s, as Salo led the Trojans to their first-ever conference team title. They also earned a big win at NCAAs, with the 400 free relay team of Anika ApostalonChelsea ChenaultKirsten Vose, and Kasia Wilk taking the NCAA title. A strong freshman class bolstered their lineup, and a stellar incoming class indicates that they’ll have continued success immediately. This is Salo’s first time being honored as Pac-12 coach of the year.

Meehan guided Stanford’s talented group to a very successful year. The Cardinal excelled at NCAAs, finishing as team runners-up to Georgia, and probably would’ve won the whole thing if not for a relay DQ that cost them big points. Medley was the key to their success– Stanford took both medley relays, and freshman phenom Ella Eastin collected titles in both IM’s. This is Meehan’s second coach of the year award, after winning accolades in 2014.

Stanford diving coach Patrick Jeffrey scored the diving coach of the year award, as he coached conference diver of the year Gracia Leydon-Mahoney to multiple Pac-12 titles and an NCAA title, as well as Lilly Hinrichs to a sixth place NCAA finish in the platform event.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

About Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon

Karl Ortegon studied sociology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT, graduating in May of 2018. He began swimming on a club team in first grade and swam four years for Wesleyan.

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!