MacNeil & Dorenkott Earn Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Awards


Michigan’s Maggie MacNeil was named Big Ten swimmer of the year and Ohio State’s Bill Dorenkott the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the 2019-2020 season.

The Big Ten announced its postseason awards this week. The 10 head swimming & diving coaches within the Big Ten vote on the awards, which are separate from the conference’s “Swimmer/Diver of the Championships” which focus specifically on the Big Ten Championship meet.

Purdue swept the yearly diving awards, with Adam Soldati named Diving Coach of the Year and Emily Bretscher winning Diver of the Year. Here’s a look at the full Big Ten awards announced this week:

After the conference championships in February, the Big Ten announced its ‘of the championships’ awards, its Freshman of the Year, and its Big Ten Sportsmanship honorees:

  • Swimmer of the Championships: Maggie MacNeilMichigan
  • Diver of the Championships: Emily BretscherPurdue
  • Freshman of the Championships: Kaitlynn SimsMichigan
  • Sportsmanship honorees:
    • Abigail Cabush, Illinois
    • Josie Grote, Indiana
    • Kelsey Drake, Iowa
    • Jacqui Schafer, Michigan
    • Claire Schenden, Michigan State
    • Patricia Van Law, Minnesota
    • Rachel Powers, Nebraska
    • Malorie Han, Northwestern
    • Laura Banks, Ohio State
    • Maddie Hart, Penn State
    • Emily Bretscher, Purdue
    • Francesca Bertotto, Rutgers
    • Kendall Smith, Wisconsin

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

What is the sportsmanship honorees?

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »