Indiana Breaks Even Against Top-20 Double

by SwimSwam 0

February 11th, 2018 Big Ten, College, Water Polo

Press Release courtesy of Indiana Athletics

Indiana faced a pair of ranked opponents on the second day of the Triton Invitational and came away with split results, completing a 2-2 weekend and an 11th-place finish for the tournament. The Hoosiers (8-3) fell 6-3 to No. 19 Loyola Marymount in their first game, but rebounded to beat No. 11 Long Beach State, 11-7.

Senior Jennifer Beadle scored her third hat trick of the weekend against the 49ers to lead four Hoosiers with multiple goals. Beadle ended the tournament with a team-leading 10 goals.

Game 10: No. 19 Loyola Marymount 6, No. 12 Indiana 3 // Box Score
Team              1 – 2 – 3 – 4 | F 
LMU:              1 – 4 – 1 – 0 | 6
IU:                   2 – 0 – 0 – 1 | 3

Indiana broke a scoreless deadlock late in the first quarter after killing a power play with Beadle’s goal. The Hoosiers doubled their lead on their next possession, when Sarah Young threaded the defense for her first of three goals over the double-header.

The Lions ended their drought on the possession after Young’s goal and held the line from there, scoring five unanswered goals across the second and third quarters. Megan Abarta scored once in the fourth quarter to cut LMU’s lead to three, notching her first goal of the weekend.

Game 11: No. 12 Indiana 11, No. 11 Long Beach State 7 // Box Score
Team              1 – 2 – 3 – 4 |  F 
IU:                   4 – 3 – 3 – 1 | 11
LBSU:             1 – 3 – 1 – 2 | 7

The Hoosiers rallied in the 11th-place match to end the weekend on a high note, utilizing a furious first quarter to gain an insurmountable lead. Beadle registered an astonishing 5:52 hat trick in the first quarter alone to put the Hoosiers up 3-0. Young converted a power play with seconds left on the first quarter clock to erase the 49ers’ opening score.

Karrie Kozokar got the Hoosiers on the board midway through the second, her first of two in the game, to break a 2-0 Long Beach run. Young and Abarta added goals before the break to give Indiana a 7-4 lead at halftime.

Sophomore Emily Powell tabbed her second goal of the weekend after the break, followed by Joelle Nacouzi’s power play conversion that capped a 4-0 Hoosier run. Nacouzi and Kozokar added their second goals down the stretch to break up a trio of Long Beach goals.

Up Next: 2018 Santa Clara Invitational • SaturdaySunday, Feb. 24-25
Santa Clara University • Santa Clara, Calif.

The Hoosiers receive another two week break in Bloomington before returning to the west coast for a weekend at the Santa Clara Invitational. Indiana’s marquee matchup of the slate looks to be their Saturday evening tie with the 10th-ranked Aggies.

Three of Indiana’s players will brace for a friendly crowd with their Bay Area homecoming at Santa Clara. Jennifer Beadle (Pleasanton) and Mackenzie Rosenthal (Saratoga) make their final career visits to the region, while Carlie Crumbaugh (Moraga) makes her first collegiate return.

Indiana’s weekend schedule is as follows:

Saturday, Feb. 24
2:40pm ET/11:40am PT – No. 12 Indiana vs. Sonoma State
8pm ET/5pm PT – No. 12 Indiana vs. No. 10 UC Davis

Sunday, Feb. 25
12:20pm ET/9:20am PT – No. 12 Indiana vs. Santa Clara
5:30pm ET/2:30pm PT – No. 12 Indiana vs. CSU Monterey Bay

Leave a Reply

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!