Ice Swimming Hall of Fame – 2020 Class Announced

by SwimSwam 0

November 14th, 2019 News

The Ice Swimming Hall of Fame is a new organization, founded in 2018 by representatives from the world of winter swimming, ice swimming, and open water swimming. (Photos and details on honorees and contributors on

The objective of the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame is to recognize and honor leading ice and winter swimmers and contributors to the sport of cold water swimming. The sport is growing quickly with thousands of participants and many mass and solo events in more and more countries. The Ice Swimming Hall of Fame serves as a historic record and provide heroes and role models for future generations.
The class of 2019 includes world record holders, champion ice, winter, pool and open water swimmers, Olympians, organizers, and multinational events.

The Ice Swimming Hall of Fame Class of 2020 is announced:
Jackie Cobell (GBR), Honor Swimmer
Fergal Somerville (IRL), Honor Contributor – Administrator
Kate Steels (GBR), Honor Swimmer
Petar Stoychev (BUL), Honor Swimmer
Christof Wandratsch (GER), Honor Swimmer
Antarctic Circle Challenge (RSA), Honor Event
Murmansk Winter Swimming (RUS) Honor Event

Eligibility into the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame requires that all swimmers and contributors must have an international “body of work” over a period of more than 5 years (this may increase in time). A few exceptions may occur for a single/amazing one-time swim which captures global attention.

For swimmers, it is their record of ice and winter swims (5C and below) and icy swims (above 5C) including: podium finishes in 1k races and winter swimming events from 25m to 450m; ice miles, inspirational, special locations, first ever swims, altitude and under the ice. All must generally be in traditional open water attire (togs not wetsuits).
For contributors this includes administrators, organizing bodies, officials, members of governing bodies, media, coaches, environmental awareness and events. The individuals involved in events will not receive a vote for future classes and are listed as “Participants in an Honor Event of the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame.”

The initial selection panel included: Paolo Chiarino (Italy), Ned Denison (Ireland), Elaine K Howley (USA), Pádraig Mallon (Ireland), Leszek Naziemiec (Poland), Kieron Palfarman (RSA), Shelley Taylor-Smith (Australia) and Jonty Warneken (UK). Their term as the initial voting committee was for the first two years, during which they were ineligible for individual honors). All honor swimmers and contributors (excepting “events”) will now form the voting committee and the initial selection panel is now eligible to be nominated for the Ice Swimming Hall of Fame.

The class of 2020 joins the following swimmers and contributors from the inaugural Class of 2019: Ram Barkai (RSA), Aleksander Brylin (RUS), Henri Kaarma (EST), Jaimie Monahan (USA), Steven Muñatones (USA), Lewis Pugh (GBR), Mariia Yrjö-Koskinen (FIN), and the Bering Strait Relay (RUS to USA with international involvement)

Photos and details on honorees and contributors on

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments