Energy Standard Adds Estonian Record Holder Kregor Zirk for ISL Season

After Energy Standard lost 2 huge names from their team for the inaugural International Swimming League (ISL) season in 2019, they’ve picked up Estonian international Kregor Zirk to supplement their roster. Kirk is also a member of the Energy Standard training group, which makes up a big chunk of their ISL team, but is not an exclusive one-to-one ratio (other teams have Energy Standard swimmers on their rosters, and Energy Standard has non-club swimmers on theirs).

The 20-year old Zirk was named the Estonian Swimmer of the Year in 2017. He has won several medals at European Junior Championship events, including a bronze in the 100 fly at the 2017 European Juniors and a bronze in the 50 fly at the same meet in 2016.

He currently holds or shares 17 Estonian National Records across 3 different strokes, including 13 individual marks. That versatility makes him quite valuable in the ISL format, where teams have limited rosters with which to fill out their lineups. Zirk, generally, has been better in short course than long course to this point of his career (ISL meets in 2019 will all be in short course meters), but his long course times have progressed more rapidly over the last 18 months.

Zirk’s Best Times in Yards:

50 free 22.39 23.21
100 free 47.57 50.09
200 free 1:43.84 1:48.51
400 free 3:47.51 3:51.30
200 back 1:54.20 2:07.63
50 fly 23.77 24.02
100 fly 50.90 52.83
200 fly 1:53.58 1:58.04
200 IM 2:00.84 2:08.29

While not as fast or as accomplished as either of the two swimmers that Energy Standard has lost recently, Danas Rapsys or Andrei Minakov, Zirk does have the skillset to capably fill most of the lanes left by their departure. While Energy Standard’s is not the deepest team, especially after the recent defections, their top-end talent still rivals most rosters in the league.

Current Energy Standard Roster, 2019 International Swimming League

Simonas Bilis Charlotte Bonnet
Anton Chupkov Imogen Clark
Chad Le Clos Georgia Davies
Max Litchfield Femke Heemskerk
Florent Manaudou Fantine Lesaffre
Andrei Minakov Penny Oleksiak
Ben Proud Kayla Sanchez
Mykhailo Romanchuk Emily Seebohm
Evgeny Rylov
Anastasiya Shkurdai
Sergii Shevtsov Sarah Sjostrom
Ilya Shymanovich Kierra Smith
Maxim Stupin Rebecca Smith
Kregor Zirk

Leave a Reply

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »