DU’s Bornman and Sanders, USD’s Schutt Earn Weekly Swimming Honors

The following is a press release courtesy of the Summit League:

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver’s Ray Bornman was named the Men’s Swimmer of the Week, while Denver’s Amanda Sanders and South Dakota’s Sam Schutt were named the Women’s Swimmers of the Week for their performances Oct. 14-20.

Ray Bornman, Denver
Fr. // Mackay, Queensland

Bornman collects his first career Swimmer of the Week award after posting a pair of top-two finishes and CSM Natatorium Pool records.  The freshman won the 200 free in a league-best and CSM Natatorium Pool record time of 1:41.19.  He took second in the 100 fly with a time of 50.82, tying for the second-fastest league time this season.  Bornman also set a CSM Natatorium Pool record with a 21.15 50-free split as part of the first-place 200 free relay team (1:27.49).

Also nominated: Harris Thompson, Eastern Illinois; Lennart Kuester, IUPUI; Nick Schutt, South Dakota; Chris Neaveill, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: Oct. 14 – Alex McLain, South Dakota State.

Amanda Sanders, Denver
So. // Superior, Colo.

Sanders garners her second career Swimmer of the Week honor and first of the season after posting three individual top-two finishes to help Denver defeat Colorado State and league opponent Omaha.  The Superior, Colo., native touched the wall first in the 200 breast in 2:19.77.  She also came in runner-up in the 50 breast (29.50) and 200 IM (2:07.54).  She leads the league in the 200 breast and ranks second in the 200 IM.

Sam Schutt, South Dakota
So. // Columbus, Ohio
Schutt captures her second-straight Swimmer of the Week award and third of her career after recording four top-three finishes over two days, including the three individual event wins.  On Friday, the sophomore won the 200 free (1:52.83) and 500 free (5:02.52) at North Dakota.  She came back the next day to win the 200 free (1:53.24) and finish third in the 100 free (53.22).  Schutt ranks first in the league in the 200 free and second in the 500 free.

Also nominated: Lexi Laird, IUPUI; Morgan Stepp, Omaha; Emily Campbell, South Dakota State; Lizzie Hollopeter, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: Oct. 14 – Sam Schutt, South Dakota.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League’s Front Row app, and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson

Jared Anderson swam for nearly twenty years. Then, Jared Anderson stopped swimming and started writing about swimming. He's not sick of swimming yet. Swimming might be sick of him, though. Jared was a YMCA and high school swimmer in northern Minnesota, and spent his college years swimming breaststroke and occasionally pretending …

Read More »