DIVING: China and Mexico Share Gold Medals in Leon (MEX) Grand Prix

by SwimSwam 0

April 06th, 2015 Diving, News

The second leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix in Leon (MEX), which brought together over a hundred divers and 19 countries*, came to an end on Sunday with Mexico and China winning all the titles in competition (nine in total). Germany, USA, Italy, Australia, France, Poland and Brazil were other nations with medals at the event in the new Aquatic Complex of Leon, Guanajuato.

For the first time in history, two mixed synchronised diving events took place during a FINA Diving Grand Prix competition. Chinese pair Lingrui Liu and Qiyuan Hu won the gold medal in the 3m springboard mixedsynchronised and the Mexican Diego Balleza and Alejandra Estrella Madrigal won the 10m platform event.

Jahir Ocampo won his second consecutive gold medal in the individual 3m springboard on day 3 in Leon while another Mexican, Jonathan Ruvalcaba, took gold for the 10m platform with 472.85 points on day 4.

Jonathan Ruvalcaba took another gold medal by winning the 10m synchro platform with Carlos Moreno, totalising 396.54 points. However, the Chinese divers Anqi Wang and Bowen Huang bested the mexicans (third) in the  3m springboard with 406.17 points.

Among the women, in the 3m springboard, Chinese Chunting Wu bested Dolores Hernandez (MEX, second) and Lin Qu (CHN, third) with 338.25 points. In the synchro platform, home youngest participant Gabriela Agundez, 14, triumphed with 296.40 points together with her counterpart Karla Rivas. Lingrui Liu and Qiyuan Hu (CHN) took gold medal with 277.80 in the 3m sprinboard. The podium of the women’s 10m platform was taken by Chinese sensation Siyu Ji.

As the curtain falls on the FINA Diving Grand Prix Leon (MEX), the divers travel to the third stop in Gatineau, Canada, from 9 to 12 April.

*The 19countries participating in the FINA Diving Grand Prix Leon 2015 were: Austria, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Puerto Rico United States and Mexico.

3m springboard: 1. Jahir Ocampo (MEX) 498.25; 2. Jianfeng Peng (CHN) 486.45; 3. Martin Wolfram (GER)  448.55
10m platform: 1. Jonathan Ruvalcaba (MEX) 472.85; 2.Bowen Huang (CHN) 465.75; 3. Dominic Bedggod (AUS) 435.00
3m springboard synchro: 1. Jonathan Ruvalcaba/ Carlos Moreno (MEX) 396.54; 2. Andrzej Rzeszutek/ Kacper Lesiak (POL); 3. Martin Wolfram/ Sascha Klein (GER) 364.89
10m platform synchro: 1. Anqi Wang/ Bowen Huang (CHN) 406.17 ; 2. Domink Stein / Timo Barthel (GER) 373.29; 3. Jonathan Ruvalcaba/ Juan Celaya (MEX) 356.88

3m springboard: 1.Chunting Wu (CHN) 338.25; 2.  Dolores Hernandez (MEX) 326.15; 3. Lin Qu (CHN) 326.10
10m platform: 1.Siyu Ji (CHN) 340.85; 2.  Laura Marino (FRA) 324.85; 3. Noemi Batki (ITA)  303.90
3m springboard synchro: 1.Lin Qu/ Chunting Wu (CHN) 312.30; 2. Samantha Mills/ Esther Qin (AUS) 290.40; 3. Paola Pineda/ Carolina Mendoza (MEX) 286.86
10m platform synchro: 1. Gabriela Agundez/ Karla Rivas (MEX) 296.40; 2. Christina Wassen/ Tina Punzel (GER) 264.66; 3.Ingrid Oliveira/ Giovanna Pedroso (BRA) 249.90

3m springboard: 1. Lingrui Liu/ Qiyuan Hu (CHN) 277.80 ; 2. Abby Johnston/ Jordan Windle (USA) 266.40; 3.  Jahir Ocampo/ Dolores Hernandez Monzon (MEX) 257.40
10m platform: 1. Diego Balleza / Alejandra Estrella Madrigal (MEX) 294.60; 2. Noemi Batki  / Maicol Verzotto (ITA) 285.06;  Toby Stanley / Delaney Schnell (USA) 272.52

February 20-22 – Rostock (GER)
April 2-5 – Leon (MEX)
April 9-12 – Gatineau (CAN)
April 16-19 – San Juan (PUR)
June 26-28 – Madrid (ESP)
July 3-5 – Bolzano (ITA)
October 16-18 – Singapore (SIN)
October 23-25 – Kuala Lumpur (MAS)
Oct 29-Nov 1 – Gold Coast (AUS)

Diving News Courtesy: FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments