DiRado Named Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year; Franklin Freshman of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – STANFORD senior Maya DiRado was named Pac-12 Women’s Swimmer of the Year, CALIFORNIA freshman Missy Franklin earned Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year honors, and Cardinal head coach Greg Meehan was named Pac-12 Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year, the Conference office announced today. The awards were voted on by the Pac-12 head women’s swimming coaches.

DiRado could not have capped her collegiate career in more impressive fashion, first earning three individual titles in the 200 individual medley, 400 individual medley and 200 fly at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships followed by a sweep of the individual medley events at the NCAA Championships last weekend. In addition to her individual titles, the Santa Rosa, Calif. native contributed to a pair of national title relays, a third-place finish in the 800 free relay and a second-place effort in the 200 individual fly. Her performance helped Stanford score its most points at the national meet since 2000 en route to a second-place finish. In her career, DiRado is a 21-time All-American and seven-time Pac-12 champion. She also holds top-five times in six different events in Stanford program history.

Franklin, flourished in her first season in Berkeley, claiming Pac-12 Swimmer of the Month honors in December and again in February after collecting a meet-high six titles—three individual and three relay— in her debut at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships. The Centennial, Colo. native set three meet records in the 100 free, 200 free and 500 free to collect her first three Pac-12 individual championships. She also helped Cal to victories in the 400 and 800 free relay and 400 medley relay, as well as a runner-up finish in the 200 medley relay. Her performance earned her the Pac-12 Women’s Swimmer of the Meet honors. She capped her first season of collegiate swimming by setting an American, U.S. Open and NCAA record with a time of 1:40.31—a full second under the old record of 1:41.21—in winning the 200 freestyle at the NCAA Championships last weekend. Franklin also helped the Bears—who finished third overall— to a national championship in the 800 freestyle relay in addition to a second-place finish in the 200 freestyle relay, second-place effort in the 500 freestyle and a third-place finish in the 100 freestyle.

Meehan has had an impressive start to his coaching career at Stanford, earning Pac-12 Coach of the Year honors for the first time in his career. In just his second year at the helm, he led the Cardinal to their most points at the NCAA Championships in 14 years and its highest overall finish since 2010. He was also honored as CSCAA’s Swimming Coach of the Year after the surprise runner-up finish behind Georgia. Meehan has wasted no time making a mark on the Cardinal program, winning a Pac-12 team title in 2013 followed by an impressive showing at this year’s NCAAs. Prior to joining the Cardinal, he spent five seasons with Cal’s men’s swimming and diving programs and was regarded as one of the top assistants in the country. During his time with the Bears, the program produced a pair of NCAA Championships (2011, 2012) and a runner up finish in 2010.

The above is a press release submitted and posted, unedited, from the Pac-12 Conference. 

In This Story

Leave a Reply

4 Comment threads
3 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
6 Comment authors
newest oldest most voted

Dirado should’ve been swimmer of the year too at ncaa’s. She scored the most points, swam on multiple relays, and helped her team toward a title more than anyone else. That’s what swimmer of the meet should mean IMO (who scores the most points AND contributes to relays as well). This is why I think Morozov clearly should’ve won it over Cordes last year even though he had some mind blowing swims (2 wins plus 4 relays is more impressive to me than 2 wins and 2 relays). They both did things that had never been done before. And I think each meet decides this award differently (ACC’s deciding to give it to Purdue over Oliver because she scored the… Read more »


I assume you mean Swimmer of the Meet? That to me is vague enough to mean whatever you want. I believe the coaches vote on it so it’s what they decide. If you want the highest point scorer, then go for Most Valuable Player. I think MacLean rightfully earned it – she got 3 NCAA records in 2 swims (by 10 whole seconds in the mile!), and got 4th in her third event. Dirado did outscore her individually by 2 points, but didn’t get any records. I think think MacLean rightfully earned it. Yes, Dirado had relays too but those are advantageous to certain types of swimmers (i.e. sprinters not distance swimmers). I am glad they chose Cordes over Morozov… Read more »


I meant to say it’s pointless to discuss since it’s in the past, not just because it’s my opinion. Opinions are things that can be argued although it’s often inane to do so.


Be careful using the phrase “A full second under” when you are referring to 1:41.21 vs 1:40.31… as this is actually not a full second under

How about the job (Fr) Lia Neal did. If she would have made A finals in the 50-200 she could have been contender for Fr of the year. Her work on the Relays where awesome

About Braden Keith

Braden Keith

Braden Keith is the Editor-in-Chief and a co-founder of SwimSwam.com. He first got his feet wet by building The Swimmers' Circle beginning in January 2010, and now comes to SwimSwam to use that experience and help build a new leader in the sport of swimming. Aside from his life on the InterWet, …

Read More »