Destin Lasco Talks Missing 200 Back A Final, Training With STACKED Cal Backstroke Group


Call backstroke star Destin Lasco did not make the 200 back final at the 2022 MINN Invite. He unpacks why in this interview.

Chris O’Connor (Texas) – 1:41.68
Ziyad Saleem (Cal) – 1:42.68
Gunner Grant (Harvard) – 1:42.74
Jake Newmark (Wisconsin) – 1:43.00
Colby Mefford (Cal) – 1:43.22
Anthony Rincon (Harvard) – 1:43.45
Panos Bolanos (UNLV) – 1:43.56
Ethan Harder (Texas) – 1:43.67

Longhorn Chris O’Connor posted the fastest time of the morning by exactly a second, touching in 1:41.68. He’ll be joined by his teammate Ethan Harder (1:43.67) in the A-final tonight, while Cal and Harvard also each put up two men into the top eight.

Notably, 2022 NCAA champion Destin Lasco failed to make make the A-final after going 1:43.86 in prelims, qualifying 9th.

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »