Denver Sweeps Summit League Swimmers Of The Week

Press Release courtesy of the Summit League

Denver’s Morgan McCormick was named The Summit League Women’s Swimmer of the Week, while teammate Stephen Calkins earned the Men’s Swimmer of the Week award for their performances during the week of Oct. 17 – 24.


Sr.  // Golden, Colo.  

  • Named Summit League Swimmer of the Week for the second time in her career, first this season
  • Won four events in meet against Colorado State
  • Clocked 2:01.62 in the 200 back, which currently ranks 54th in the country (2:00.42 a)
  • Won the 100 back with a time of 55.78

Also nominated: Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Erica Hagen, Western Illinois; Emily Pincus, South Dakota State

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Oct. 17 – Heidi Bradley, Denver


R-Fr. // Calgary, Alberta   

  • Named Summit League Swimmer of the Week for the first time in his career
  • His altitude adjusted time of 1:37.61 in the 200 free is an NCAA B Standard and is also the 16th fastest time in the nation
  • 200 free time broke a pool record that he previously held in his youth swimming career
  • Clocked 49.56 in the 100 fly, time ranks 72nd in the NCAA (49.46 a)

Also nominated: Elbert Chuang, South Dakota; Brennan Bladel, Western Illinois; Austin Pham, South Dakota State

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Dylan Kirar, Valparaiso; Oct. 17 – Sid Farber, Denver

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!