CSCAA Membership Elects New Board Members

College Swimming News Announcement

At the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Business Meeting and Convention in Orlando, FL the membership of the CSCAA elected three new representatives to the organization’s board of directors.

The new Division I Men’s Swimming Representative is 6-time CSCAA Coach of the Year Jack Bauerle of the University of Georgia.  Coach Bauerle is the winningest active Division I swimming coach and led the Georgia Women to 5th national title in 2013.  In addition to success in the pool, Coach Bauerle has produced three NCAA Women of the Year award winners, 28 NCAA Postgraduate Scholars and numerous CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.

Duncan Sherrard of Florida Southern College was elected as the Division II Men’s Swimming Representative.  In just four years at Florida Southern, Coach Sherrard has taken the team from their first NCAA Qualifiers in 2010 to a runner-up finish at the 2013 NCAA Championship, picking up his second straight Sunshine State Coach of the Year honor.  For the past two years his teams have been named CSCAA Scholar All-America Teams and in 2013 Robbie Swan received the NCAA Elite 89 award given to the athlete with the highest cumulative GPA at the NCAA Championship.

For Division III, 16-time conference coach of the year, Sean Tedesco from the United States Merchant Marine Academy will be the new DIII Men’s Swimming Representative.  Coach Tedesco has led his team to six straight Landmark Conference Championships.  At the 2013 NCAA Championship he guided Kevin Lindgren to a NCAA runner-up finish in the 200 Backstroke.   Coach Tedesco has previously chaired the CSCAA Scholar All-America Program.

“I am tremendously excited to work with these new members of the CSCAA Board of Directors, they are excellent coaches and bring tremendous knowledge and experience to the board,”  said CSCAA Executive Director Joel Shinofield.

The newly elected board members replace three outgoing members who had reached the end of their terms; Tim Welsh, Notre Dame; Phillip Davis, Incarnate Word and Charlie Griffiths, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps.  “We can’t thank these three enough for their service to the CSCAA and the sport, they are outstanding coaches and people.” Said president Kirk Sanocki.

In addition to these newly elected representatives, three additional board members were re-elected to new terms.  Maureen Travers from LIU Post, was re-elected as secretary while Chuck Knoles of the University of Pittsburgh was confirmed as treasurer.  Clark Campbell, University of Kansas was elected to a second term as the at-large representative.

CSCAA Board of Directors

President Kirk Sanocki, Wingate University

President-Elect Bill Wadley, Ohio State University

Past-President Mark Bernardino, University of Virginia

Secretary Maureen Travers, LIU Post

Treasurer Chuck Knoles, University of Pittsburgh

Sargent-at-Arms Bob Pearson

At-Large Representative Clark Campbell, University of Kansas

Division III

Anne Goodman-James, Colorado College; Sean Tedesco, USMMA

Division II

Brad Flood, University of Bridgeport; Duncan Sherrard, Florida Southern College

Division I

Jack Bauerle, University of Georgia; Cyndi Gallagher, UCLA


Founded in 1922, the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) – the oldest organization of college coaches in America -is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming at the collegiate level.

In cooperation with our sister organizations – USA Swimming, the American Swimming Coaches Association, United States Masters Swimming and the National Interscholastic Swimming Coaches Association – the CSCAA  is dedicated to promoting the benefits of the sport of swimming at all levels and throughout the life cycle.

The CSCAA recognizes outstanding achievements by coaches and swimmers; promotes communication and cooperation both within the sport of swimming and with our fellow Olympic sports; protects, promotes and seeks to expand competitive intercollegiate swimming programs; recommends rules and regulations to the NCAA; sponsors events; certifies new coaches; provides ongoing educational and leadership training for coaches and athletes; and serves as a source of information to its membership and for the general public.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »