CSCAA Announces National Scholastic Collegiate Trophy Finalists

by SwimSwam 2

January 26th, 2022 College, News

Courtesy: CSCAA

The nominees for the National Collegiate Scholastic Trophy were announced today by the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). The trophy is awarded by both the CSCAA and National Interscholastic Swimming Coaches Association (NISCA). It is the highest honor in intercollegiate and interscholastic swimming and diving and awarded to the individual who has made “the greatest contribution to swimming as a competitive sport, and as a healthful, recreational activity in the province of undergraduate and scholastic education.”

Nic Askew, Andrew Hendricks, and Braden Holloway are the three finalists. The winner will be selected by CSCAA member coaches and recognized at the 61th Annual CSCAA College Swimming & Diving Awards on May 2th at Joe’s Live in Rosemont, Illinois.

The Nominees:

Nic Askew, Howard University

Nic Askew is the Director of Swimming and Diving at the nation’s only Division I Historically Black College and University (HBCU) swimming and diving program. After inheriting a program that had gone winless in fifteen years, he has helped Howard swimmers qualify for the NCAA Championships, National Invitational Championships and 2020 Olympic Games. In 2020 he was awarded the “Maritza Correia McClendon” Award by Diversity in Aquatics and 2020 Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) Coach of the Year. In nominating Askew, Salim King also highlighted his involvement in combatting drowning, noting “Coach Nic has Worked tirelessly to teach water safety skills to children and adults throughout the Mid-Atlantic.”

A proud Bison, Askew has a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology. He resides in Maryland with his Howard sweetheart, Christie Askew and three daughters, Aleena, Avianna and Aleya.

Andrew Hendricks, Franklin College

As the founding coach of Franklin College’s programs, Hendricks brings a personal and passionate approach to coaching and has fostered a family-like culture within the framework of the teams. In ten seasons he has coached 210 All-Conference honorees, nine NCAA Division III qualifiers and six CSCAA All-Americans. In his nomination Zach Rayce explained that Hendricks “leads his team to not only train hard, but to also learn how to eat properly and the importance of diet. Swimming is an incredibly hard sport and without the proper nutrition, you won’t have the success that you have trained for.”

Swimming in the Hendricks’ household is definitely a family affair. He resides locally with his wife and their three daughters, each of whom swims competitively on local club teams.

Braden Holloway, North Carolina State University

Braden Holloway has been the architect of North Carolina State University’s return to national prominence. In his first decade he has led the Wolfpack to ten top-ten finishes (six men’s, four women’s) and five top-five finishes highlighted by a runner-up finish at the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Championship. While succeeding on the biggest stages, Coach Holloway’s connections extend to the grassroots swimming community, having coached at the University of the South (Sewanee) prior to retuning to Raleigh. Since then, Holloway has led his alma mater to eight ACC team championships, a 117-43-1 dual meet record thirteen individual or relay NCAA titles and eight ACC Coach-of-the-Year honors. The Baton Rouge, La. native is married to former NC State swimmer Mary Mittendorf. The Holloways have four children – daughter Blyth Marie, son Ethan Robert, daughter Brynn Elizabeth and son Holden Jon.

About the National Collegiate Scholastic Trophy

The National Collegiate and Scholastic Swimming Trophy is presented to the coach who, in the estimation of the recipient’s peers, has “the greatest contribution to swimming as a competitive sport, and as a healthful, recreational activity in the province of undergraduate and scholastic education.” The award is presented annually by both the CSCAA and the National Interscholastic Swimming Coaches Association (NISCA).

Past Award Winners

Fifty-nine different coaches have won the Trophy over the award’s sixty-two years. The recipients include more than two-dozen Olympic coaches. Collectively the award winners have captured 192 NCAA team titles.

Dave Armbruster, Iowa (1963)
Ron Ballatore, UCLA / Florida (2012)
Jack Bauerle, Georgia (1998)
Hoble Billingsley, Indiana (1990)
Frank Busch, Arizona (2005)
Ray Bussard, Tennessee (1985)
Charles Butt, Bowdoin College (1981)
Bob Busbey, Cleveland State (1983)
Jim Counsilman, Indiana (1975)
Peter Daland, Southern California (1977)
Greg Earhart, Carthage College (2008)
Don Easterling, NC State (1994)
Dr. Samuel Freas, ISHOF (1997)
Jean Freeman, Minnesota (1999)
Donald Gambril, Alabama (1986, 2006)
George Haines, UCLA (1976)
Phil Hansel, Houston (1989)
John Higgins, Navy (1988)
Jon Howell, Emory University (2015)
Frank Keefe, Yale University (2009)

Edward Kennedy, Columbia (1959)
Richard Kimball, Michigan (1987)
Robert Kiphuth, Yale University (1960)
Matt Kredich, Tennessee (2013)
Kris Kubik, Texas (2017)
Peter Linn, Eastern Michigan (2018)
Ernie Maglischo, CSU Bakersfield (1992)
Matt Mann, Oklahoma (1961)
David Marsh, Auburn (2000 and 2003)
Jack McGuire, Iowa State (1978)
Teri McKeever, California (2002)
Don Megerle, Tufts (2007)
Karl Michael, Dartmouth (1967)
Charles McCaffree, Michigan St (1966)
Philip Moriarty, Yale University (1979)
Robert Mowerson, Minnesota (1974)
Robert Muir, Williams College (1969)
Tim Welsh, Notre Dame (2014)
Richard Papenguth, Purdue (1965)
Gregg Parini, Denison University (2011)

Mike Peppe, Ohio State (1962)
Richard Quick, Stanford (2001)
Eddie Reese, Texas (1993)
Jack Ryan, Army / West Point (1984)
Soichi Sakamato, Hawaii (1968)
Joel Shinofield, CSCAA/USA Swimming (2020
Charles Silvia, Springfield (1971)
Eddie Sinnott, Southern Methodist (2019)
Alfred Barr, Southern Methodist (1972)
Gus Stager, Michigan (1980)
Richard Steadman, Monmouth (1982)
Jim Steen, Kenyon (1995)
Susan Teeter, Princeton (2017)
Nort Thornton, California (1991)
David Robertson, New Trier HS (1970)
Gregg Troy, Florida (2010)
Harold Ulen, Harvard University (1964)
Jon Urbanchek, Michigan (1996 and 2004)
Ted Webster, Syracuse (1973)
Gregg Wilson, UC Santa Barbara (2016)

Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Valerie Rayce
2 years ago

Coach Hendricks works tirelessly to assure his swimmers past and present reach their greatest potentials in the classroom and life as well as the pool.

WetGriz Alum
2 years ago

Andrew Hendricks is also the Athletic Director for Franklin College. Greatest coach you could ask for