China Sweeps Gold at the FINA Diving Grand Prix – Kuala Lumpur

China blitzed to win all eight titles on offer at the eighth and final leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2014, held in Kuala Lumpur (MAS) on October 24-26. Divers from Colombia, Malaysia and USA also climbed the podium.

In the women’s competition, China easily prevailed with 2013 World silver medallist Han Wang re-capturing gold after her second-place finish in Singapore (SIN, meet No7) in the 3m springboard with a total 362.50 points. Han finished ahead of teammate and current World champion Liu Huixia (second), and Malaysia’s Cheong Jun Hoong (third). In the 10m platform, Ren Qian (CHN), who topped the event four times this season (meets No1, 2, 3 and 5), claimed a fifth gold with 427.80 points. Reigning World champion in the event Si Yajie of China picked up silver while 2012 Olympic bronze medallist Pandelela Rinong of Malaysia scored the bronze.

Among men, Li Shixin (CHN) bounced back from his second-place finish in Singapore to emerge victorious in the 3m springboard with a total 510.70 points, collecting his third gold in the event this season. Ooi Tze Liang of Malaysia was second and Chinese He Chao, third. In the 10m platform, Huo Liang of China took out the event with 532.30 points, successfully holding at bay silver and bronze medallists, Toby Stanley (USA, 456.25) and Ooi Tze Liang (MAS, 448.60).



3m springboard: 1. Li Shixin (CHN) 510.70; 2. Ooi Tze Liang (MAS) 461.05; 3. He Chao (CHN) 440.65
10m platform: 1. Huo Liang (CHN) 532.30; 2. Toby Stanley (USA) 456.25; 3. Ooi Tze Liang (MAS) 448.60
3m springboard synchro: 1. Li Shixin/He Chao (CHN) 441.54; 2. Ooi Tze Liang/Ahmad Amsyar Azman (MAS) 414.45; 3. Sebastian Morales/Sebastian Villa (COL) 399.87
10m platform synchro: 1. Zhang Yanquan/Chen Aisen (CHN) 474.30; 2. Ooi Tze Liang/Chew Yi Wei (MAS) 386.55; 3. Zach Cooper/Tanner Wilfong (USA) 348.57


3m springboard: 1. Han Wang (CHN) 362.50; 2. Liu Huixia (CHN) 351.60; 3. Cheong Jun Hoong (MAS) 339.00
10m platform: 1. Ren Qian (CHN) 427.80; 2. Si Yajie (CHN) 385.80; 3. Pandelela Rinong (MAS) 354.00
3m springboard synchro: 1. Ng Yan Yee/Nor Dhabitah Sabri (MAS) 274.41; 2. Jasmine Lai Pui Yee/Kam Ling Kar (MAS) 267.51; 3. Deidre Freeman/Maren Taylor (USA) 259.80
10m platform synchro: 1. Ji Siyu/Si Yajie (CHN) 332.70; 2. Pandelela Rinong/Cheong Jun Hoong (MAS) 327.84; 3. Loh Zhiayi/Nor Dhabitah Sabri (MAS) 293.67

Diving News courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carol Bert
6 years ago

Katrina and Cheyenne rock!!!

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »