Carthage Wins First CCIW Men’s Title Since 2012, Seventh Overall

by SwimSwam 0

February 13th, 2017 College, NCAA Division III

Carthage won its first College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) men’s swimming title since 2012 and seventh in program history on Saturday at the Pleasant Prairie RecPlex.

It was the first title under third-year head coach Seth Weidmann, who took home CCIW Men’s Coach of the Year honors.

The Red Men won with a team score of 956, followed by Rose-Hulman (763), Wheaton (667), Augustana (355), Illinois Wesleyan (257), Carroll (233), Millikin (108) and North Central (104).

Wheaton’s Will McCauley won CCIW Swimmer of the Meet honors for his performance during the three-day event. McCauley took first in three individual events including the 500 freestyle (4:34.82), 400 IM (3:59.99) and 1650 freestyle (16:04.65). He was also part of the winning 800 freestyle relay (6:51.59).

Other award winners included CCIW Rookie of the Meet Cooper Hawkins and Outstanding Participant Chris Russo, both of Carthage. Hawkins was second in both the 400 IM (4:05.13) and 200 breaststroke (2:08.14), while Russo won the 100 (45.88) and 200 (1:41.71) freestyle events and placed second in the 500 freestyle (4:39.96). He was also part of three winning relay teams including the 200 freestyle relay (1:23.29), 400 medley relay (3:20.98) and 400 freestyle relay (3:04.12).

CCIW swimmers will await word on possible trips to the national meet as the NCAA Division III Swimming Championships will be held March 15-18 at CISD Natatorium in Shenandoah, Texas.

News courtesy of CCIW.

Leave a Reply

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!