Alabama Men, Arkansas Women Lead After Second Day Of GT Fall Invite

After two day of competition at the Georgia Tech Fall Invitational in Atlanta, Georgia, Alabama’s men’s team and Arkansas’ women’s team are leading the meet. The Alabama men opened the session with an impressive 200 medley relay, finishing well under the NCAA A time standard with a final time of 1:24.49.

The first individual event of the day was won by Alabama’s Mia Nonnenberg. The sophomore won the 400 IM with a final time of 4:07.53, winning by more than four seconds. She lead six other girls to NCAA B cut times. On the men’s side, South Carolina swept the event, finishing first, second and third. Tom Beribonio won with a top time of 3:48.68, Cody Bekemeyer finished second at 3:52.14, and Phillip Willett finished third with a 3:53.48. The only other to finish under the NCAA B standard was Alabama’s Taylor Charles with a 3:54.03.

In the 100 butterfly, three girls earned NCAA B cuts in the 100 butterfly finishing between 53.37 an 54.10. Alabama’s Hannah Musser won the event.The Alabama men came back to complete a 1-2 sweep of the men’s 100 fly with a 46.44 from Brett Walsh and and 47.46 from Connor Oslin. The Alabama men then used their momentum to sweep the men’s 200 freestyle. Chris Arseneau lead the charge with a 1:36.10.

In the women’s 200 freestyle, Arkanas’ Maddie Monroe won the girls 200 freestyle with a 1:45.84, leading two other swimmers to NCAA B cut times.

Six girls earned NCAA B time standards in the 100 breaststroke, although nobody was able to punch through the 1 minute barrier. Bridget Blood of Alabama won with a final time of 1:00.43.

The men’s final was much more competitive. The entire final finished under the NCAA B Standard. Anton McKee nearly earned the NCAA A time standard, finishing .35 seconds off the standard. He won the official event with a 52.43.


Florida Gulf Coast’s Elise Haan dominated the 100 backstroke by nearly two seconds with a top time of 52.52. She lead four other swimmers under the NCAA B Standard. Connor Oslin won on the men’s side with a solid 46.00, also leading four other swimmers under the NCAA B Standard. .

The final day of competition begins tomorrow morning. Full results can be found here. 

In This Story

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Tony Carroll

Tony Carroll

The writer formerly known as "Troy Gennaro", better known as Tony Carroll, has been working with SwimSwam since April of 2013. Tony grew up in northern Indiana and started swimming in 2003 when his dad forced him to join the local swim team. Reluctantly, he joined on the condition that …

Read More »