8 battle for $50,000 and the FINA Water Polo World League Title in China

The national teams of Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Italy, Russia, Spain and USA are gearing up for the Super Final of the 11th FINA Women’s Water Polo World League organised in Kunshan (CHN) from June 10-15. The teams will be divided in two groups as follows:

Group A: Canada, Spain, Russia, USA
Group B: Australia, Brazil, China, Italy

A tough competitive field awaits the participating teams with Team USA, a seven-time World League winner and 2012 Olympic gold medallists, and host China, whose squad is the defending World League champions.

Spain, the current World champions and 2012 Olympic silver medallists, is still a stranger to World League podiums. The Australian squad, which took second at Worlds last year, is also a strong medal contender. Traditional water polo powerhouses Canada, 2016 Olympics host Brazil, Italy and Russia, second in the World League last year, are also close challengers in the Super Final race.

The overall winner will receive US$50’000 in prize money and a total US$262’500 will be divided among the 14 participating teams.

The semi-finals and final will be streamed live and free on FINA TV.

MEDALLISTS of the FINA Women’s World League

2004: 1. USA, 2. HUN, 3. ITA
2005: 1. GRE, 2. RUS, 3. AUS
2006: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. RUS
2007: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2008: 1. RUS, 2. USA, 3. AUS
2009: 1. USA, 2. CAN, 3. AUS
2010: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2011: 1. USA, 2. ITA, 3. AUS
2012: 1. USA, 2. AUS, 3. GRE
2013: 1. CHN, 2. RUS, 3. USA

PROGRAMME of the FINA Women’s World League 2014

Tuesday, June 10: ESP-CAN, AUS-BRA, USA-RUS, ITA-CHN
Wednesday, June 11: USA-CAN, ITA-BRA, ESP-RUS, AUS-CHN
Thursday, June 12: ITA-AUS, ESP-USA, CAN-RUS, CHN-BRA
Friday, June 13: 2A-3B; 3A-2B; 1A-4B; 4A-1B
Saturday, June 14: Semi-finals 5-8 (2 games); Semi-finals 1-4 (2 games)
Sunday, June 15: Games for places 7-8, 5-6, 3-4 and 1-2

Swimming news / water polo news courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »