2022 Kansas Classic: Iowa State Distance Group Leads Cyclones To Victory


  • Nov. 18-20, 2022
  • Capitol Federal Natatorium
    • Topeka, Kansas
  • SCY (25 yards)
  • Results on Meet Mobile: “2022 Kansas Classic”
  • Day 2 Recap

Despite Kansas holding a nine-point lead over Iowa State after Saturday’s action, the Cyclones rallied to win the invite by 46 points on Sunday.

Final Team Scores:

  1. Iowa State – 953
  2. Kansas – 907
  3. Indiana State – 799
  4. Northern Iowa – 432
  5. Little Rock – 264

Iowa State won only one of the six events today, with the one event being the 1650. In a dominant performance, the Cyclones swept the top three places. Junior Sydney Jackson posted a 17:01.21 to win, followed by junior Brinley Horras (17:05.34) and senior Maddy Rundell (17:07.06).

Iowa State scored a total of 75 points in this event alone, while Kansas only scored nine. Their top finisher was sophomore Karla Lessing, who placed 11th with a time of 17:36.62.

Northern Iowa’s Amber Finke took the top spot in the 200 back with a time of 1:57.55. The swim marked a new personal best for Finke by a few tenths. Liz Richardson, a senior at Iowa State, took second with a 1:58.48, which was also a best time by a few tenths.

Kansas junior Claudia Dougan took the 100 free in 50.27. She was followed by Indiana State’s Alexa Szadorski in second (50.89), and Iowa State’s Carley Caughron in third (50.92). Szadorski and Caughron both clocked personal bests in the event.

Brigid Gwidt was the only other individual event winner for Kansas, as she posted the fastest time in the 200 breaststroke with a 2:16.46. Indiana State sophomore Dorotea Bukvic dropped almost three seconds from her prelims time to take second with a 2:16.80.

Indiana State’s lone event winner of the night was Margaret Gray in the 200 fly. Gray posted a 2:03.14 to beat Iowa State’s Winter Craig, who swam a 2:03.26. Gray held a slight edge the whole race, taking out her first 100 0.09 hundredths faster than Craig, while also coming back 0.03 hundredths faster.

Kansas captured the final event of the meet, with the team of Dougan (50.79), Autumn Looney (50.90), Keyla Brown (50.40), and Ellie Wehrmann (50.41) combining to win in a 3:22.50, almost a second faster than Iowa State (3:23.32).

Leave a Reply

Notify of

1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
13 days ago

Nice job ISU!