2022 Horizon League Champs: IUPUI Freshman Logan Kelly Cracks 100 Breast Record





1) Oakland – 624
2) Milwaukee – 424.5
3) IUPUI – 366
4) UIC – 341
5) Cleveland State – 233.5
6) Youngstown State – 209
7) Green Bay – 134

1) Oakland – 479
2) Cleveland State – 455
3) IUPUI – 391
4) Green Bay – 254
5) UIC – 230.5
6) Youngstown State – 214
7) Milwaukee – 179.5

Heading into the final of the of the 2022 Horizon League Championships, 8x defending champions Oakland have all but locked up the women’s title, entering day 4 with a 199.5-point lead. The men’s meet is another matter, where Cleveland State has closed the gap considerably, and sits just 24 points behind Oakland with one more day to go.

Part of what led to Cleveland State closing the gap was Oakland getting disqualified in the men’s 400 medley relay. The Golden Grizzlies finished in 3:11.38, over a second ahead of any other team, but they were disqualified for celebrating in another team’s lane. Cleveland State won the event in their stead, as Dominik Niedzialek (48.30), Griffin Manning (53.08), Bob Fick (47.77), and Paddy Johnston (43.49) teamed up for a 3:12.64.

Cleveland State put up a dominant performance in the men’s 400 IM, taking the top 3 spots on the podium. Freshman Jackson Nester touched first in 3:49.42, using a stellar back split of 56.67 and a free split of 53.78 to propel himself to victory. Timmy Kubacki came in 2nd with a 3:51.79, while Jake Taulbee swam a 3:54.83 for 3rd.

Oakland had a massive event of their own, posting a 1-2-3-4 finish in the men’s 200 free. Rudy Aguilar won the race in 1:36.02, with Jonas Cantrell right behind in 1:36.32. Danylo Hrebelnyi took 3rd with a 1:36.71, and Ben Davis touched 4th in 1:36.99.

In the men’s 100 back, Oakland’s Marko Khotynetskyi led the way, winning another HL title in the event with a 46.88. Cleveland State freshman Paddy Johnston was right on his heels, clocking a 47.13 for 2nd place.

IUPUI picked up a pair of men’s wins on the day, starting with Spencer Jyawook, who took the men’s 100 fly in 46.34. He touched first by over a second, marking one of the biggest margins of victory of the day. IUPUI freshman Logan Kelly won the men’s 100 breast in 52.43, just off the 52.38 he swam in prelims. His prelims performance marked a Horizon League Championship Record.

Oakland was dominant in the women’s 400 medley relay, where Susan LaGrand (53.08), Sydney McDowell (1:02.86), Mia Keranen (54.67), and Jordyn Shipps (50.15) combined for a 3:40.76.

Coincidentally, Shipps and Keranen went 1-2 in the women’s 100 fly earlier in the session. The pair were tied at the 50 mark, both splitting 25.21 on the first 50. Shipps held up better on the back half, splitting 28.86, while Keranen was 29.46. Shipps finished in 54.07, Keranen in 54.67.

Susan LaGrand and Sydney McDowell were both members of that winning 400 medley relay who won individual events on the day as well. LaGrand took the women’s 100 backstroke, swimming a 53.88. The time was considerably slower than she led off the relay in (53.08). McDowell posted a 1:02.69 to win the women’s 100 breast, a time which was actually faster than her relay split. The 100 breast was a 1-2 punch for the Golden Grizzlies, as Taylor Bailey touched 2nd in 1:03.03.

Cleveland State posted a 1-2 finish in the women’s 200 free. Ana Sousa won the event in 1:50.59, while Rachel Contich clocked a 1:50.92 for 2nd. UIC picked up a win in women’s 3-meter diving, where Cydney Liebenberg scored 308.80 points to earn the title by a 23-point margin.



Leave a Reply

Notify of

oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bear Szn
9 months ago

Oakland was DQ’d for celebrating in another teams lane while the race was still ongoing, not an early takeoff. Early takeoff did happened in the 200 free relay tho