2018 Summit League Day 4: Denver 5-Peats as Men’s and Women’s Champs

by Spencer Penland 1

February 18th, 2018 News




  1. Denver – 1081
  2. Nebraska Omaha – 696
  3. South Dakota State – 619
  4. South Dakota – 593
  5. Western Illinois – 219
  6. Eastern Illinois – 205


  1. Denver – 1094
  2. South Dakota – 695
  3. South Dakota State – 665
  4. Western Illinois – 367.5
  5. Eastern Illinois – 308
  6. Valparaiso – 241.5

On the final day of the Summit League Championships, Denver’s men and women won their 5th straight team titles, and brought their combined event win streak to 78 events at the Summit League Championships. Denver also picked up 6 more Summit League records.

Cy Jager blasted a 49.78 100 IM to shatter the Summit League record and win by well over a second. His first 50 split was stellar, coming in at 22.93.

Morgan McCormick won the women’s 200 back with a quick 1:53.11, coming in as the only swimmer in the field to break 2 minutes. While her time was just off the Summit League record of 1:52.81, it does give her an excellent shot of earning an invite to the NCAAs.

Anton Loncar won the 200 back with a 1:41.15, coming in just under his own Summit League record of 1:41.39. Loncar ran away with the race, coming in over 4 seconds ahead of runner-up Neil Wachtler, who went 1:45.84. Loncar split very consistently, posting splits of 24.18/25.19/25.87/25.91.

Sid Farber blasted a 42.78 to win the men’s 100 free over teammate Stephen Calkins, who had broken the Summit League record in prelims with his 43.07. Farber had the fastest split in the field on both 50s, coming in at 20.52 and 22.26. Denver took the top 5 spots, with all 5 swimmers coming in at 44.7 or better.

Denver freshman Sanes Adriel shattered the men’s 200 breast Summit League record, posting a 1:56.24 to win the event by over 4 seconds. The previous record sat at 1:57.26 from Tim Cotton in 2015.

Valette Josiane pushed the middle of the 200 fly to win the event by over a second and break the Summit League record. Josiane posted a 1:57.91, fueled by her 28.83 and 30.64 splits on the middle 2 50s. The previous record was 1:58.45, set by Madison Wright in 2012.

Denver’s men finished off the meet with a decisive victory in the 400 free relay. The team of Stephen Calkins (42.94), Cameron Auchinachie (43.70), Hugo Sykes (44.14), and Neil Wachtler (43.83) combined to post a 2:54.61, breaking their own Summit League record of 2:55.40, which they set last year. Calkins was out very fast, coming in under 43 seconds to join teammate Sid Farber in the 42 range. Denver chose not to put Farber on this relay, which means that had he been on it the relay would have been about 2 seconds faster based on his performance in the 100 free on the same day.



Swimming Championship MVP – Colin Gilbert, Denver

Newcomer of the Championship – Stephen Calkins, Denver

Swimming Coach of the Year – Brian Schrader, Denver

Diving Coach of the Year – Ben Grado, Denver


Swimming Championship MVP – Maddie Myers, Denver

Diving Championship MVP – Sammy Walker, Denver

Newcomer of the Championship – Charlotte Simon, Denver

Diving Coach of the Year – Eric Sprague, Omaha

Leave a Reply

Notify of
1 Comment
oldest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
4 years ago

hey Denver, join a real conference.