160 divers from 28 countries compete at the 19th FINA Diving World Cup

A total 160 divers from 28 countries have rendezvous in Shanghai (CHN) for the 19th edition of the FINA Diving World Cup, organised on July 15-20 at the superb Oriental Sports Centre, the venue of the 2011 FINA World Championships. The competition will take place at the ‘Moon Bay’ outdoor diving pool.

Nine events are on the programme: men’s and women’s 3m springboard and 10m platform, individual and synchro, and a mixed team event.

Prize money will be distributed to the medallists as follows: USD $10’000 (1st place), USD $8’000 (2nd place), USD 5’000 (3rd place) for each of the nine events.

Finals will be streamed live on FINAtv, free of charge.

Programme (finals) of the 19th FINA Diving World Cup 2014:

Tuesday July 15: Team event
Wednesday July 16: Women’s 3m synchro & Men’s 10m synchro
Thursday July 17: Women’s 10m synchro & Men’s 3m synchro
Friday July 18: Women’s 10m platform
Saturday July 19: Men’s 3m springboard
Sunday July 20: Women’s 3m springboard & Men’s 10m platform

Created in 1979, the World Cup is a biannual, six-day event with nine titles on offer. The last Diving World Cup was held in London (GBR) in 2012. In Olympic year, the World Cup is a qualifying and test event for the Games.

Diving News / Swimming News courtesy of FINA.

Leave a Reply

About Gold Medal Mel Stewart

Gold Medal Mel Stewart

MEL STEWART Jr., aka Gold Medal Mel, won three Olympic medals at the 1992 Olympic Games. Mel's best event was the 200 butterfly. He is a former World, American, and NCAA Record holder in the 200 butterfly. As a writer/producer and sports columnist, Mel has contributed to Yahoo Sports, Universal Sports, …

Read More »

Want to take your swimfandom to the next level?

Subscribe to SwimSwam Magazine!