Women’s Intercontinental Water Polo Tournament Begins In California

by SwimSwam 0

May 01st, 2017 News, Water Polo

The FINA Women’s Water Polo World League Intercontinental Tournaments kicks-off today, Tuesday May 2, in Davis, USA, with six strong teams from America, Asia and Oceania.

From May 2-6, Australia, Canada, China, Japan, Kazakhstan and the USA will play each other once in a round-robin format, in the hope to secure a spot in the World League Super Final to be held in Shanghai, China from June 6-11.

The tournament concludes on May 7, after a full day of playoffs and only the top-four teams (plus China, as the host country) will advance to the FINA Women’s Water Polo World League Super Final.

Olympic and World champions USA are the World League title holders too, and will battle it out for a possible fourth consecutive crown (undefeated since 2014).

The Intercontinental Tournament’s schedule unfolds as follows:

Date Game 1 Game 2 Game 3
Day 1 Tuesday, May 2 16:00 AUS-CHN 17:20 JPN-CAN 19:30 KAZ-USA
Day 2 Wednesday, May 3 16:30 CAN-AUS 17:50 KAZ-JPN 19:10 CHN-USA
Day 3 Thursday, May 4 16:30 CHN-CAN 17:50 AUS-KAZ 19:10 JPN-USA
Day 4 Friday, May 5 16:30 KAZ-CHN 17:50 JPN-AUS 19:10 CAN-USA
Day 5 Saturday, May 6 16:30 CHN-JPN 17:50 KAZ-CAN 19:10 AUS-USA
Day 6 Sunday, May 7 10:00 5th – 6th 11:30 3rd – 4th 13:00 1st – 2nd

There will be daily match reports available on FINA website here

Read FINA‘s on-site expert preview here

News courtesy of FINA.



Leave a Reply

Don't want to miss anything?

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive our latest updates!